SLAYER Performs Entire 'Seasons In The Abyss' Album In Milan; Photos Available

On Monday, June 29, and Tuesday, June 30, SLAYER played two back-to-back concerts at the sold-out Alcatraz club in Milan, Italy. During the second show, the entire 1990 album "Seasons In The Abyss" was performed.

June 29 setlist (photos from Musica Metal):

01. World Painted Blood
02. Hate Worldwide
03. Cult
04. Disciple
05. Expendable Youth
06. War Ensemble
07. Jihad
08. Beauty Through Order
09. Payback
10. Seasons In The Abyss
11. Hell Awaits
12. Mandatory Suicide
13. Chemical Warfare
14. Raining Blood
15. Aggressive Perfector
16. South Of Heaven
17. Silent Scream
18. Angel Of Death

June 30 setlist (photos from Musica Metal):

01. World Painted Blood
02. Jihad
03. Hate Worldwide
04. Disciple
05. Beauty Through Order
06. War Ensemble
07. Blood Red
08. Spirit In Black
09. Expendable Youth
10. Dead Skin Mask
11. Hallowed Point
12. Skeletons Of Society
13. Temptation
14. Born Of Fire
15. Seasons In The Abyss
16. Mandatory Suicide
17. Raining Blood
18. Aggressive Perfector
19. South Of Heaven
20. Angel Of Death

SLAYER's latest album, "World Painted Blood", was recorded in Los Angeles over two time periods, during October 2008 and then between late January and March 2009. The CD was produced by Greg Fidelman, who's spent time in the studio with METALLICA, THE GOSSIP, THE (INTERNATIONAL) NOISE CONSPIRACY, SLIPKNOT and others, and executive-produced by longtime SLAYER colleague Rick Rubin, who suggested Fidelman for the project.

The CD initially shipped with four special collector's edition covers. Each of the four covers displayed one-fourth of a provocative continental map illustrated with human skulls and bones; when placed together, the four images form a complete and grisly map of the world. All four of the initial album packages included a special blood-red, see-through top panel with the map displayed beneath it.

SLAYER's track "Hate Worldwide" was nominated for a Grammy Award in the "Best Metal Performance" category. The award eventually went to British heavy metal legends JUDAS PRIEST, who were honored for the track "Dissident Aggressor", from the band's 2009 live album "A Touch of Evil: Live".

Photo credit: Paolo Bianco for Musica Metal:


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).