August 6, 2009

Chicago's SOIL has inked a deal with Bieler Bros. Records for all territories except Europe, which will be handled by AFM Records/Soulfood. The band's new album, "Picture Perfect", will be released in the U.S. on October 20 (three days later in Europe).

"Picture Perfect" was created by the production team of Grammy-nominated producer Johnny K (DISTURBED, STAIND),Ulrich Wild (DEFTONES, INCUBUS) and SOIL, with Dave Fortman (MUDVAYNE, EVANESCENCE) handling mixing duties. Songtitles set to appear on the CD include "Like It Is", "Temptation", "Surrounded", and "Picture Perfect".

SOIL's new album was originally supposed to be released in the U.S. via Driven Music Group, the Phoenix, Arizona-based music label and entertainment company created by former KORN guitarist Brian "Head" Welch. However, that relationship appears to have been dissolved without producing any releases from the band.

Raz of conducted an interview with SOIL vocalist AJ Cavalier at the Sonisphere festival, which was held on August 1-2, 2009 at the legendary Knebworth Park, United Kingdom. Watch the six-minute chat below.

SOIL's last album, "True Self", was released in May 2006 via DRT Entertainment. The follow-up to 2004's "Redefine" was recorded and mixed at Bomb Shelter studios in Los Angeles, California with producer Ulrich Wild (STATIC-X, TAPROOT).

SOIL in 2007 amicably parted ways with guitarist Shaun Glass due to "personal differences." The band decided against seeking a replacement guitarist and has opted to remain a four-piece, with Cavalier filling in on some of the guitar duties.

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email