SOLSTICE Completes First Recording In 15 Years

September 26, 2013

British doom metal outfit SOLSTICE has completed its first recording since 1998's "New Dark Age" album. Recorded in GM Studios in Huddersfield and mixed by Richard Whittaker, the new material will be released as a four-song, 27-minute mini-album entitled "Death's Crown Is Victory". Initially available as a download from the SOLSTICE Bandcamp page, it will be followed by a vinyl release and a CD version. Ireland's Into The Void Records will also release the album on cassette.

The new SOLSTICE track "I Am The Hunter" can now be streamed in the YouTube clip below.

SOLSTICE released only two albums and one EP before going their separate ways more than a decade ago.

Formed in the early 1990s by vocalist Simon Matravers, the band included guitarists Richard M. Walker and John Piras, bassist Lee "Chaz" Netherwood, and drummer Lennaert Roomer. According to AllMusic, the group introduced its particularly sorrowful style via its 1994 debut album, "Lamentations" (Candlelight). The "Halcyon" EP (featuring guitarist Gian Pyres, later of CRADLE OF FILTH) followed in 1995, after which SOLSTICE experienced numerous business-related and internal difficulties. By the time "New Dark Age" was released, the band featured only two original members (Walker and Netherwood) alongside vocalist Morris Ingram, guitarist Hamish Hamilton Glencross and drummer Rick Budby.


Paul Kearns - Vocals
Richard Walker - Guitars
Andy Whittaker - Guitars
Ian "Izak" Buxton - Bass
James Ashbey - Drums

Find more on Solstice
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email