SONATA ARCTICA To Release Christmas Single

December 1, 2015

Finnish melodic metal heroes SONATA ARCTICA will release a very special Christmas gift for their fan base: a new single called "Christmas Spirits".

This year the handing out of presents will happen six days early as the single will be released on December 18 via Nuclear Blast. It will be made available via digital download and as a limited-edition EP, only available at the Nuclear Blast online shop.

Commented SONATA ARCTICA: "Christmas is just around the corner so we decided to cheer you all up with a nice Christmas story. 'Decided' might be a bit strong in this context since the 'Christmas Spirits' song has been around for about ten years now; we just never had the time to record it. Finally during the 'Pariah's Child' sessions, we managed to do the basic tracks and this autumn we finished the song. I guess the main reason for the delay was getting the lyrics done, it’s nearly impossible to get into the Christmas mood unless it’s actually… you guessed it, Christmas. Hats off to Tony since he did it anyway, this autumn, and without any snow, we might add. Be that as it may, here’s our latest piece of art: 'Christmas Spirits'!

"Christmas Spirits" track listing:

01. Christmas Spirits
02. Christmas Spirits (Radio Edit)
03. Christmas Spirits (Orchestral Version)

While on yet another successful world tour, this time to support their latest studio album, "Pariah's Child", SONATA ARCTICA swung by the studio to re-record its debut album "Ecliptica", which was released 16 years ago. This new version was made available in October 2014 under the title "Ecliptica - Revisited; 15th Anniversary Edition" on Nuclear Blast.

The original version of "Ecliptica" was recorded at Tico-Tico studios and mixed at Finnvox by Mikko Karmila (NIGHTWISH, CHILDREN OF BODOM). The album was promoted on tour with STRATOVARIUS and RHAPSODY.


Find more on Sonata arctica
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).