SONATA ARCTICA: Trailer For Re-Recorded, 15th-Anniversary Edition Of 'Ecliptica'

SONATA ARCTICA: Trailer For Re-Recorded, 15th-Anniversary Edition Of 'Ecliptica'

While on yet another successful world tour, this time to support their latest studio album, "Pariah's Child", Finnish melodic metal heroes SONATA ARCTICA swung by the studio to re-record their debut album "Ecliptica", which was released 15 years ago. This new version will be released on October 24 under the title "Ecliptica - Revisited; 15th Anniversary Edition" on Nuclear Blast.

The original version of "Ecliptica" was recorded at Tico-Tico studios and mixed at Finnvox by Mikko Karmila (NIGHTWISH, CHILDREN OF BODOM). The album was promoted on tour with STRATOVARIUS and RHAPSODY.

The official trailer for "Ecliptica - Revisited; 15th Anniversary Edition" is available below.

The first digital single, "Kingdom For A Heart", was released on September 12.

Commented keyboardist Henrik "Henkka" Klingenberg: "When deciding on a single for the upcoming release of the re-recorded 'Ecliptica', we wanted to have an upbeat song that would represent overall sound of the album and since 'Unopened' was the first SONATA ARCTICA single in history, we thought that it was time to pick another song. 'Kingdom For A Heart' has been a live favourite for years and I think it showcases the energy and power that SONATA ARCTICA first became known for."

"Ecliptica - Revisited; 15th Anniversary Edition" track listing:

01. Blank File
02. My Land
03. 8th Commandment
04. Replica
05. Kingdom For A Heart
06. Fullmoon
07. Letter To Dana
08. UnOpened
09. Picturing The Past
10. Destruction Preventer


11. I Can't Dance (GENESIS cover)

Commented Klingenberg: "When it first was suggested to us by our Japanese label that we'd re-record our debut album, 'Ecliptica', it felt a bit weird, but somehow the idea grew on us. Being that only Tony and Tommy played on the original one, we thought that it would be a fun thing to do, to give these great songs another run.

"We're definitely not trying to rewrite history. The original 'Ecliptica' is the starting point of this band and a very special album with a certain feel of innocence and enthusiasm which cannot be recreated as such since we're not teenagers anymore. Having said that, this new version is more of a tribute and an update on how these songs sound when played by our current lineup. We wanted to stay true to the original album as much as possible and not turn this into some weird re-arranged project where you couldn't tell which song was being played.

"So here it is, the 15th anniversary version of 'Ecliptica'. Hope you enjoy it, we certainly had a good time digging into these songs and laying down the tracks."

sonataarcticakingdomsingle sonataarcticaeclipticacd


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).