SORCERER Feat. Ex-TIAMAT, LION'S SHARE Members: Lyric Video For 'Ship Of Doom' Song

September 26, 2017

Swedish epic heavy doom metal warlords SORCERER will release their new album, "The Crowning Of The Fire King", on October 20 via Metal Blade Records.

The official lyric video for the disc's second single, "Ship Of Doom", can be viewed below.

SORCERER comments: "We have aimed to write an album with diversity and intensity, an album that we want to listen to ourselves.

"'The Crowning Of The Fire King' is by far our best recording ever with songs that are strong, powerful and doomy. We have captured what SORCERER is about and taken the songs to the next level for the band.

"With the first single, 'Sirens', we really want to show everyone that SORCERER is a force to count on!

"The video was made by our dear friend Daniel Nyqvist who did the videos for 'The Dark Tower Of The Sorcerer' and 'Prayers For A King'. We all feel that he succeeded to capture the essence of SORCERER with his videos and are proud of what he has done for the band."

"The Crowning Of The Fire King" track listing:

01. Sirens
02. Ship Of Doom
03. Abandoned By The Gods
04. The Devils Incubus
05. Nattvaka
06. Crimson Cross
07. The Crowning Of The Fire King
08. Unbearable Sorrow

SORCERER emerged out of Sweden in the late 80s and was one of the very early bands to champion what is now known as "epic doom metal." Besides genre pioneers CANDLEMASS, groups like SOLITUDE AETURNUS, WHILE HEAVEN WEPT and SORCERER were among the few groups around representing this style of metal.

During its existence, SORCERER produced two self-financed cassette releases, both of which quickly became underground cult classics regularly hailed by metalheads as some of the finest of the era. After a few personnel changes, the group disintegrated in 1992 and since then some of the bandmembers went on to find some success with other groups. Bassist Johnny Hagel achieved greater success in TIAMAT and later SUNDOWN. Vocalist Anders Engberg has also made a name for himself with several other bands he has fronted, such as LION'S SHARE, TWILIGHT and SECTION A.

In the fall of 2010, members of SORCERER were coaxed into reforming to play a one-off gig at the Hammer Of Doom festival in Germany and, a year later, the Up The Hammers festival in Athens, Greece. Both shows were received extremely well and the thoughts of putting together a new album started to take form.

In March 2015, SORCERER released the critically acclaimed "In The Shadow Of The Inverted Cross". SORCERER played several festivals in support of the album — Sabaton Open Air and Rock Hard Festival, among others, with the latter especially being a huge success for the band, selling out their entire merch supply even before finishing their set.

2015 also saw the release of the EP "Black", which consisted of three songs left over from the "In The Shadow Of The Inverted Cross" sessions, as well as an acoustic version of the track "Prayers For A King".

In the end of 2015, the band started to write material for a follow-up album to "In The Shadow Of The Inverted Cross". Progress went pretty fast and ten new tracks emerged out of the royal epic doom chest. The songwriting carried on throughout 2016, and in early 2017, they went into the studio to record.

During the recording, the band and drummer Robert Iversen parted ways because of musical differences, and Lars Sköld (TIAMAT, AVATARIUM) filled the role as session drummer on the album.

In the early summer of 2017, the album was ready to be mixed by the very talented Ronnie Björnström (AEON, CUT UP, 220 VOLT),who also turned the knobs on their last album. The mastering this time was expertly handled by Mr. Thomas "Plec" Johansson (SOILWORK, WATAIN).


Anders Engberg - vocals
Kristian Niemann - guitars
Peter Hallgren - guitars
Johnny Hagel - bass
Richard Evensand - drums

Find more on Sorcerer
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email