STATIC-X Schedules 'Rockline' Appearance

February 12, 2009

Los Angeles-based metal quartet STATIC-X will guest on the nationally syndicated radio show "Rockline" with host Bob Coburn on Monday, March 16 at 8:30 p.m. PT / 11:30 p.m. ET. Fans are encouraged to speak with STATIC-X by calling 1-800-344-ROCK (7625).

For more information, visit

ABORT Magazine recently conducted an interview with STATIC-X guitarist/vocalist Wayne Static. Listen to the seven-and-a-half-minute chat at this location.

The cover artwork for "Cult of Static", the new album from STATIC-X, can be viewed below.

"Cult of Static" is scheduled for release on March 17 via Reprise Records. The CD's first single, "Stingwray", hits airwaves February 14. The track was inspired by Wayne Static's wife, former adult film star Tera Wray, and the Corvette Stingray she drives. The song's powerful beats and heavy guitar riffs make this song a commanding force on the record. Elsehwere on the album, the cybernetic stomp of "Hypure" and "You Am I" bludgeon, bruise and break with precise grooves, while the staccato riffs on "Terminal" crush through an unmistakable guitar tone. Guitarist Koichi Fukuda blazes through incendiary solos, while Tony Campos bolts down demonic bass lines and Nick Oshiro pounds out deadly rhythms. Frontman Wayne Static riffs pure violence and screams out his soul.

"Over the years my voice has been destroyed from excessive touring... and I love it," exclaims Static. "The vocals on the new record are raw and brutal."

A song you may already be familiar with is "Lunatic" as it was included on the "Punisher: War Zone" movie soundtrack. Although "Lunatic" is relentless and raw, brandishing a ripping groove and an impenetrable barrier of guitars, the album cut was re-recorded to feature a solo by legendary MEGADETH mainman Dave Mustaine.

"I've been a huge MEGADETH fan for years," explains Static. "We've toured with them twice. Mustaine and I really hit it off on the road. His lead style is one of the most distinctive styles out there. There's something amazing about it. When you hear him solo, you know it's him."

"Cult of Static" track listing:

01. Lunatic (feat. Dave Mustaine)
02. Z28
03. Terminal
04. Hypure
05. Tera-Fied
06. Stingwray
07. You Am I
08. Isolaytore
09. Nocturnally
10. Skinned
11. Grind 2 Halt

STATIC-X is tentatively scheduled to take part in this year's Snocore tour alongside SALIVA and other yet-to-be-announced acts.

STATIC-X is Wayne Static (vocals, guitar, programming),Tony Campos (bass, backing vocals),Koichi Fukuda (lead guitar, keyboards, programming) and Nick Oshiro (drums).

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email