STATUS QUO: Listen To Audio Samples Of Entire 'Backbone' Album

September 2, 2019

On September 6, STATUS QUO will release "Backbone" through earMUSIC/Edel; the band's 33rd studio album – the LP will be their 33rd 33rpm!

Audio samples of all the tracks that are set to appear on the disc can be streamed below.

Some doubters said "Backbone" was a record that could not be made, but the 2019 lineup of STATUS QUO has been through a lot, they have chalked up 130 shows as a unit and travelled tens of thousands of miles. This is a group of musicians that is strong, that back each other up and are tighter than ever. "Backbone" features of a trio songs drawn from the classic partnership of Rossi/Young as well as contributions from all of the rest of the band.

The 11-track album was recorded at Francis's studio in the late months of 2018 and into this year. The sessions were initially just to keep the juices flowing, improvise and have fun. As the hours rolled on, songs stacked up, everyone began to believe that something special was happening. And so it proved. Even from within the group, there had been some resistance to creating a new record.

As Francis says: "This new material had to be seriously good. QUO have achieved so much and meant so much to too many people for the quality to slip now. Also, let's face it, things have changed and we're an easier target than ever.

"Losing Rick was hard to bear but, through Richie Malone, who was inspired to pick up a guitar by him, we can not only keep going but actually pick up the pace. The energy that he and Leon bring to QUO can't be underestimated.

"I wasn't sure I had another album in me, but I couldn't be more proud of 'Backbone'. I hope the fans love it, but you can't please everyone and I'm not going to start trying to now."

To have "backbone" means to stand firm, to stand up for what you believe in. The title fits. The hundreds of songs recorded by QUO over half a century still resonate today, and the tracks on this album are a worthy addition to that incredible catalogue. A new QUO studio album is a cause for celebration, especially when it kicks like this one. And for the doubters? A "backbone" is also a support, a unifying element that keeps things in shape. Underlying this new record are the core desires to keep creating, to be the best and to keep playing: these are the qualities that have kept QUO at the top for so long. "Backbone" will ensure that Francis Rossi and QUO keep standing proud. And, by naming the album "Backbone", they're ready for the "Spinal Tap" headlines too!

"Backbone" track listing:

01. Waiting For A Woman (Rossi/Young)
02. Cut Me Some Slack (Rossi/Edwards)
03. Liberty Lane (Rossi/Edwards)
04. I See You're in Some Trouble (Rossi/Young)
05. Backing Off (Bown/Rossi)
06. I Wanna Run Away With You (Rossi/Young)
07. Backbone (Rossi/Edwards)
08. Better Take Care (John David)
09. Falling Off The World (Cave)
10. Get Out Of My Head (Malone)
11. Running Out Of Time (Bown/Rossi)

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).