November 30, 2013

Los Angeles-based heavy metal instrumental trio STORK is instrumental no more! Founding STORK members, super drummer Thomas Lang (PAUL GILBERT) and guitarist Shane Gibson (KORN) have announced their new album, "Broken Pieces" (Muso Entertainment),will feature lead singer VK Lynne (VITA NOVA, Eve's Apple) and bassist Kelly LeMieux (BUCKCHERRY, GOLDFINGER). Lang and Gibson have also launched an IndieGoGo crowd-funding campaign for their second studio release. The campaign offers fans one-of-a-kind offerings, including Skype drum and guitar lessons as well as signed CDs, signed drumheads, dinner with the band and more.

"Broken Pieces" is a marked departure from the band's 2010 self-titled release, which offered up mega-doses of Lang's power, drumming and Gibson's seven-string shredding skills on instrumental tracks like "Loki" and "Dooosh".

"This is easily some of the best prog metal I've heard all year… which is an incredibly grand statement in a year when SCALE THE SUMMIT, PROTEST THE HERO, DEVIN TOWNSEND, MASTODON, DREAM THEATER, OPETH and MESHUGGAH all have albums coming out or already out," Vince Neilstein of Metal Sucks wrote at the time.

Mixed by Dan Monte (METALLICA, GUNS N' ROSES) and mastered by Maor Appelbaum (HALFORD, SEPULTURA) and featuring artwork from famed dark artist Sam "Mr. Sam" Shearon, "Broken Pieces" pairs Lynne's soulful vocals and intense lyrics with ultra-heavy guitar riffs, virtuoso drumming and rock solid bass on tracks like "Overflow" and "Chainsaw Serenade", evoking a sound that can be best described as "GARBAGE meets MESHUGGAH."

"Broken Pieces" is slated for release in early 2014.

Find more on Korn
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email