STRAPPING YOUNG LAD Mainman Discusses Upcoming Album 'Alien'

December 16, 2004

Maniacal Canadian extremists STRAPPING YOUNG LAD have finalized the track listing for their highly anticipated new album, "Alien", now set for a March 22 release. The follow-up to the group's critically acclaimed 2003 release "SYL" was recorded at the Armoury and Greenhouse Studios (both in Vancouver) as well as in mainman Devin Townsend's studio in Maple Ridge (a suburb of Vancouver). A major U.S. tour is currently in the works for the spring; details will be announced soon.

Townsend checks in with the following update on the making of the new album: "The 'Alien' record was written in response to yet another year of more shit. Gene Hoglan (drums) and I found ourselves in Vancouver, broke, after a year of touring. One of the cool things about the touring was being on the road with MESHUGGAH, which made Gene and I want to freak out for ourselves in the same way they were doing. We had the benefit and disadvantage of being by ourselves while Byron (bass) and Jed (guitars) were off doing their individual things away from home. Gene and I rehearsed for months until we got into the Armoury Studios in late September, where Gene played all his parts in three days. Then we moved to Greenhouse Studios, where the guitars, bass and keys/samples were laid down. I did vocals in my basement, and the mix was done in Richmond, B.C., by Shaun Thingvold and mastered by Greg Reely.

"The record isn't about anything in particular; it's just a freak out. The idea is to have something cathartic to put on, and the title 'Alien' just seemed fitting. It has no meaning beyond that. Metal is our life; we are qualified to do little else and we can do crazy things with our instruments. We are too ugly to play pop, so we decided to fuck shit up again. This album seemed a good excuse to exercise full excess. When there is double kick, we make it super-fast and all the time. Same with anything — scream as high and as long as you can, then distort it and add echo, then put explosions behind it. The sky's the limit.

"The only theme worth mentioning on the record is that it starts bitter and ends 'resolved to be confused.' It's definitely metal and if you have any doubts, please listen to it first to see if it's something you would like. But know this: We live for this shit and it has never been about spandex, eyeliner, wigs and ironic DOKKEN shirts. It's about the crunch, the kick and the power. The new themes might be closer to more everyday topics than 'City', and you may or may not relate, but it really doesn't matter as long as you get our drift ('s about unicorns and rainbows and stuff.) 'Alien' is just the next SYL record and the acoustic song is supposed to make you feel worse...not better. Unhealthy music for healthy minds."

STRAPPING YOUNG LAD will premiere material from "Alien" at the Century Family's inaugural Christmas BallS, taking place next Monday, Dec. 20 at Los Angeles' Key Club. The band will perform alongside Century Family artists DEATH ANGEL, NEBULA, IMPALED, and EYES OF FIRE. Tickets are available at Ticketmaster for the low price of $15.

"Alien" track listing:

01. Imperial
02. Skeksis
03. Shitstorm
04. Love?
05. Shine
06. We Ride
07. Possessions
08. Two Weeks
09. Thalamus
10. Zen
11. Info Dump (Instrumental)

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).