STRATOVARIUS Frontman Announces Title, Secures Label Deal For Solo Debut

February 22, 2002

STRATOVARIUS frontman Timo Kotipelto has set Waiting For The Dawn as the title of his forthcoming debut solo album, for which he has struck a deal with an as-yet-undisclosed major metal independent label (strongly rumored to be Century Media Records) for a May release. As previously reported, the album will be issued in Finland via Timo's own High And Loud label, and will be preceded by an as-yet-unspecified single approximately 1.5 months prior to the full-length release. Among the tracks that are set to appear on Waiting For The Dawn are the following:

01. Battle Of The Gods
02. Vizier
03. Secret Name
04. Beginning
05. Travel Through Time
06. Arise
07. Beautiful Has Come

Kotipelto's solo debut is a concept CD based on the Egyptian mythology, and it will feature cover artwork by famed artist Derek Riggs (i.e. IRON MAIDEN),who also did the covers for STRATOVARIUS' Infinite and Intermission albums. The album will include a host of guest appearances from some of metal's top musicians, among them the following:

Mike Romeo (guitarsSYMPHONY X)
Roland Grapow (guitarsMASTERPLAN/ex-HELLOWEEN)
Arjen Lucassen (guitarsAYREON)
Sami Virtanen (guitarsJOE DOAKES)
Jari Kainulainen (bassSTRATOVARIUS)
Mirka Rantanen (drumsTUNNEL VISION)
Gas (drumsH.I.M.)
Janne Warman (keyboardsCHILDREN OF BODOM)
Mikko Harkin (keyboardsSONATA ARCTICA)

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email