STRATOVARIUS Frontman Inks Deal With Century Media, Announces Single, Album Details

March 6, 2002

STRATOVARIUS frontman Timo Kotipelto has officially signed with Century Media Records for the release of his debut solo offering, entitled Waiting For The Dawn, as exclusively reported here on February 22nd. Due out in May, the album will be issued in Finland via Timo's own High And Loud label, and will be preceded by a single, containing the tracks "Beginning" (single edit),"Waiting for the Dawn" and "Kadesh" (non-LP),on March 15th.

Among the tracks that are set to appear on Waiting For The Dawn are the following:

01. Travel Through Time
02. Beginning
03. Lord Of Eternity
04. Testimony
05. Battle Of The Gods
06. Beauty Has Come
07. Vizier
08. Waiting For The Dawn
09. Arise
10. Here Again

As previously reported, Kotipelto's solo debut is a concept CD based on the Egyptian mythology, and it will feature cover artwork by famed artist Derek Riggs (i.e. IRON MAIDEN),who also did the covers for STRATOVARIUS' Infinite and Intermission albums. The album will include a host of guest appearances from some of metal's top musicians, among them the following:

Mike Romeo (guitarsSYMPHONY X)
Roland Grapow (guitarsMASTERPLAN/ex-HELLOWEEN)
Arjen Lucassen (guitarsAYREON)
Sami Virtanen (guitarsJOE DOAKES)
Jari Kainulainen (bassSTRATOVARIUS)
Mirka Rantanen (drumsTUNNEL VISION)
Gas (drumsH.I.M.)
Janne Warman (keyboardsCHILDREN OF BODOM)
Mikko Harkin (keyboardsSONATA ARCTICA)

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email