STRATOVARIUS To Release 'Enigma: Intermission 2' Album In September

August 10, 2018

Finnish metallers STRATOVARIUS are back with a new album — with some fresh and some very rare material. Due on September 28 via earMUSIC, "Enigma: Intermission 2" features three brand new songs as well as, for the first time in the band's history, four beautifully arranged orchestral versions of popular STRATOVARIUS songs.

The album is similar in concept to "Intermission", released 17 years ago between "Infinite" and "Elements", in the sense that these seven tracks made in 2018 are completed by nine very rare, very-hard-to-find power metal gems.

With over 30 minutes of brand new material and 50 minutes of previously rare metal, "Enigma: Intermission 2" is definitely more killer than filler!

Take "Enigma" and "Oblivion", for example, fresh from the studio in 2018. Both combine an epic melody with a bombastic chorus and heavy riffs for STRATOVARIUS's trademark sound and remind of "Unbreakable" from their 2013 album "Nemesis", the most streamed song in the band's history. Or "Kill It With Fire" and "Castaway", two epic and full-blown power metal tracks that were previously only heard by Japanese fans.

The official song stream video for "Oblivion" is now available below.

The sweeping melodic power metal grandeur of STRATOVARIUS, together with Timo Kotipelto's powerful yet emotional voice, is very much present on all of the 80 minutes of this release. This spirit truly makes "Enigma: Intermission 2" closer to a full new studio album than to a mere compilation.

"Enigma: Intermission 2" track listing:

01. Enigma (brand new studio song; recorded 2018)
02. Hunter
03. Hallowed††
04. Burn Me Down (brand new studio song; recorded 2018)
05. Last Shore††
06. Kill It With Fire*
07. Oblivion (brand new studio song; recorded 2018)
08. Second Sight*
09. Fireborn
10. Giants*
11. Castaway*
12. Old Man And The Sea††

Brand new orchestral versions (all recorded 2018)

13. Fantasy
14. Shine In The Dark
15. Unbreakable
16. Winter Skies

* previously unreleased in Europe
† rare bonus track
†† rare bonus track; first time on CD

This autumn, STRATOVARIUS will hit the road in Europe with Tarja Turunen on the "A Nordic Symphony '18" tour.

Find more on Stratovarius
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email