SWEET & LYNCH Featuring MICHAEL SWEET, GEORGE LYNCH: 'Dying Rose' Video Premiere

January 21, 2015

SWEET & LYNCH — the new band featuring guitarist/vocalist Michael Sweet of Christian hard rockers STRYPER, legendary guitarist George Lynch (T&N, DOKKEN, LYNCH MOB),bassist James Lomenzo (MEGADETH, WHITE LION, BLACK LABEL SOCIETY) and drummer Brian Tichy (S.U.N., WHITESNAKE) — will release its debut album, "Only To Rise", on January 27 via Frontiers Music srl. The CD was produced by Sweet, who also helmed the last STRYPER album, "No More Hell To Pay".

The official video for the SWEET & LYNCH song "Dying Rose" can be seen below. Sweet states: "'Dying Rose' is the perfect representation of this album. It's heavy yet dynamic with a riff and melody that reminds you of the greatest era in rock.

"George and I are proud of this song and excited that you all have the opportunity to finally hear it in its entirety and to see it as well!"

"Only To Rise" track listing:

01. The Wish
02. Dying Rose
03. Love Stays
04. Time Will Tell
05. Rescue Me
06. Me Without You
07. Recover
08. Divine
09. September
10. Strength In Numbers
11. Hero-Zero
12. Only To Rise

"George and I are proud of how this album turned out and we're counting the days for the release," adds Sweet. "We're equally as proud of the fan base out there. So many people have been there through thick and thin and this album is a testimony to the perseverance of working hard and working even harder. George, Brian, James and myself gave 110% to every note played and sung and we hope that it shows."

In a recent post on his Facebook page, Sweet wrote about the formation of SWEET & LYNCH: "I was approached by Serafino at Frontiers Records to sing and write for what he was referring to as a 'supergroup' project (one of the first) that Frontiers would be putting together and releasing. I was, of course, not only intrigued by the idea but also humbled that he would ask me! Jon Levin (DOKKEN) was suggested as the possible guitarist and I suggested to Serafino getting the man himself, Mr. Scary (George Lynch) involved. Serafino was, of course, excited about the idea. Frontiers has told me how happy they are with my production on the new STRYPER albums so I immediately suggested producing as well. Serafino also agreed. I contacted George [as soon as possible] and he quickly agreed to be a part of this exciting project. It was decided that he and I would co-write everything together and that I would produce.

"I knew George from a few STRYPER/LYNCH MOB shows and we seemed to hit it off in terms of personalities.

"Many of you know that George considers himself to be a freethinker/atheist and I'm, of course, a devout Christian.

"You may ask how does an atheist and a Christian work together in a band situation? The answer is respect. Although I don't agree with George's spiritual/religious views (and he doesn't agree with mine, assumedly),we respect each other as musicians, friends and human beings.

"I'm free to do many things with the hope that maybe, just maybe, my life might have a profound effect on people I come in contact with.

"I've spoken with George many times over and he always strikes me as a genuine soul and someone who cares for and loves people. Bottom line? He's a great guy and I'm proud to be a part of this with George.

"Although we don't see eye to eye in our beliefs, we respect each other enough to not let that come between us.

"I believe that the uniqueness of each other helped created a very unique piece of art.

"'Only To Rise' could not have turned out any better, in my humble opinion, and George is equally as thrilled as I am. Now add to this Brian Tichy (drums) and James Lomenzo (bass),and together the four of us have painted a masterpiece (in my opinion) and we cannot wait for all of you to hear it in its entirety.

"A little more history: George wrote 60-90-second ideas (intro, verse, chorus) guitar oriented riffs/songs and then I arranged and wrote lyrics and melodies and mapped everything out. I then flew Brian and James out and we tracked the basic tracks (drums, bass, guitars) and then we tracked the background vocals (Robbie LaBlanc and Charles Foley).

"A funny side note: some people have said that the vocals sound like STRYPER. I'm not even singing within the background vocal stack, just the lead vocal over the vocal spread/stack.

"Also, some people have said that some of the songs sound like STRYPER. Well, either George Lynch is the biggest STRYPER fan on the planet or oddly enough, the guitar/song idea he came up with just so happen to have a little STRYPER flare. I think it's very different than STRYPER and the only common ground is the sound of my voice, which is instantly recognizable."

Plans are currently being worked out for SWEET & LYNCH to play a few live shows in the spring of next year, making this different than any other supergroups that record together but never play live. More information will be announced in the near future.

"Dying Rose" video:

"The Wish" video:

EPK (Electronic Press Kit):

"September" lyric video:


Find more on Michael sweet
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).