SWEET SAVAGE: 'Eye Of The Storm - The Early Years' Two-LP Collection Due This Summer

June 5, 2008

Maniacal Records (USA) and High Roller Records (Germany) have announced a joint vinyl release for 2008, a SWEET SAVAGE two-LP release of studio material and live songs from the band's early years (1978-1981) done with the group's co-operation. Due in the summer, "Eye of the Storm - The Early Years" marks the first time that original studio recordings from the late '70s and early '80s are properly made available to the general public and also the first time that most of the songs have been committed to vinyl. The material consists of studio material and some live cuts from the early years. This is rare studio and live material that holds its own alongside the other NWOBHM greats of that era like ANGELWITCH, IRON MAIDEN, HOLOCAUST and TYGERS OF PAN TANG. 500 copies will be pressed and only 250 will be available for the USA. Half the pressing will be on green vinyl in tribute to Ireland.

Contact Mike at Maniacalreco[email protected] for pre-order information. Or if in Europe, contact Steffen at [email protected].

"Eye of the Storm - The Early Years" track listing:

Side A:

01. Eye Of the Storm (studio)
02. In The Night
03. Prospector Of Greed (studio)
04. The Raid (studio)
05. Queen's Vengeance

Side B:

01. Killing Time (studio)
02. Ground Zero (studio)
03. The Ripper
04. Lady Marion
05. Take No Prisoners

Side C:

01. Teazer
02. D.U.D.
03. The Raid (remix)
04. Prospector Of Greed (remix)
05. Sweet Surrender
06. Crucify

Side D:

01. Sweet Surrender (live)
02. Prospector Of Greed (live)
03. Eye Of The Storm (live)
04. Take No Prisoners (live)
05. Killing Time (remix)
06. Eye Of The Storm (remix)

METALLICA recorded a cover of the SWEET SAVAGE song "Killing Time" (co-written by current DEF LEPPARD guitarist Vivian Campbell, a former member of SWEET SAVAGE),which was included as the B-side to METALLICA's "The Unforgiven" single.

SWEET SAVAGE live in Belfast, 1981:

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).