SWEET To Release 'Set Me Free' Single From 'Isolation Boulevard' Album

February 25, 2021

SWEET, featuring original guitarist Andy Scott, will release its new single, "Set Me Free", on Friday, March 5. The song is taken from the band's current album, "Isolation Boulevard".

"Isolation Boulevard" features all the SWEET's classic hit singles and was recorded with the new lineup during lockdowns between September and October 2020. It's a reworking of SWEET's 1975 album multi-million-selling "Desolation Boulevard".

The latest single, "Set Me Free", is taken from the album, and although it is one of the most covered songs in the band's repertoire, this marks the first time SWEET has released it as an official single.

Over the years, the song has been covered by many rock artists, including Vince Neil (MÖTLEY CRÜE),Steve Stevens (BILLY IDOL) and SAXON.

"Recording an album separately in different locations throws up a myriad of technical problems," says Andy Scott. "It's impossible for everyone to play at the same time, so all parts are performed the 'old' way and then data transferred back to base camp where the magical digital stuff takes over."

Continues Andy: "SWEET would usually record all together in the studio with a performance rather than individually but the pandemic dictated the ways and means. The result is a mind-blowing set of tracks, all the hits and a barrage of heavy-duty glam rock."

"Isolation Boulevard" track listing

01. Fox On The Run
02. Still Got The Rock
03. Action
04. Love Is Like Oxygen
05. Hell Raiser
06. The Six Teens
07. Blockbuster
08. Set Me Free
09. Teenage Rampage
10. Turn It Down
11. New York Groove
12. Ballroom Blitz

SWEET is a British rock and roll institution with a pedigree of 50 years of hit singles. They've sold 55 million albums and had 34 number No. 1 hit singles. Hailed by many as a national treasure with a loyal fanbase, their dazzling arsenal of rock music stands the test of time. The music is as relevant today as it was 50 years ago when SWEET first stormed the U.K. charts in January 1971.

Andy Scott, the songwriter, and last man standing from the original band, has produced a remarkable album given the challenging circumstances that we face globally today.

SWEET is (left to right in photo above): Lee Small (bass, vocals),Bruce Bisland (drums, vocals),Paul Manzi (lead vocals),Andy Scott (lead guitar, vocals),Steve Mann (guitar, keyboards)

Find more on Sweet
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).