TANK Reimagines Classic Songs On 'Re-Ignition' Album

February 14, 2019

Veteran British metallers TANK will release their new album, "Re-Ignition", on April 26 via Cleopatra Records (Rubicon Music in Japan). The LP is a tribute to the early days of TANK and features 11 classic TANK songs chosen from the first four albums which were originally released in the early '80s: "Filth Hounds Of Hades", "Power Of The Hunter", "This Means War" and "Honour And Blood". "Re-Ignition" also features two very special guest appearances. CRADLE OF FILTH frontman Dani Filth and thrash legend Tom Angelripper of SODOM both add their own unique style and energy to this already formidable album.

"Re-Ignition" track listing

01. Walking Barefoot Over Glass
02. Power Of The Hunter (feat. Tom Angelripper)
03. Just Like Something From Hell
04. (He Fell in Love With A) Stormtrooper
05. This Means War
06. Shellshock (feat. Dani Filth)
07. W.M.L.A.
08. Honour And Blood
09. Blood, Guts And Beer
10. Echoes Of A Distant Battle
11. The War Drags Ever On

Says TANK guitarist Mick Tucker: "Many of the songs from those classic albums are still present in our live set and we are constantly being asked by our fans if we would ever consider re-recording any of them. Those original recordings are timeless and will always be there but we thought what harm can it do to give them a full metal makeover and inject new life into them. They deserve it!"

Adds TANK guitarist Cliff Evans: "We approached U.S. label Cleopatra Records to see if they would be interested in releasing the album. They jumped on it straight away and suggested the possibility of adding some special guests on the album. Maybe some artists who were influenced by TANK back in the '80s. Great idea! We recruited CRADLE OF FILTH frontman Dani Filth to record a version of 'Shellshock' in his own unique style and also German thrash legend Tom Angelripper from SODOM who has taken 'Power Of The Hunter' to another insane level."

Tucker and Evans are joined on the album are recent recruits David Readman (PINK CREAM 69) on vocals and Randy Van Der Elsen on bass. Longtime TANK member and former SODOM drummer Bobby Schottkowski occupies the drum throne.

Readman replaced former TANK vocalist and one time DRAGONFORCE frontman ZP Theart after he was approached by SKID ROW to join them on a permanent basis. ZP recorded one album during his time with TANK ("Valley Of Tears") which became the band's best-selling album since 1984's "Honour And Blood". Prior to ZP, the vocalist position was taken by former RAINBOW frontman Doogie White who is a member of MICHAEL SCHENKER GROUP. His contribution to TANK includes the albums "War Machine" and "War Nation" plus the band's first-ever live DVD ("War Machine Live!").

Says Evans: "We've always aimed high when it comes to recruiting new vocalists and musicians and it's always paid off. We're very proud of the albums we've made with Doogie and ZP and now this new album showcases the amazing vocal talent of David Readman."

TANK will embark on a run of shows in April 2019 when they'll be visiting Holland, Belgium, Finland, Sweden and also making an appearance in the Ukraine for the first time at the Volume Club in Kiev. A full European tour is scheduled for September/October 2019 along with shows in Japan and South America.

Find more on Tank
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email