TANK: The Initial Reaction To New Album 'Has Been Absolutely Amazing'

November 3, 2010

Legendary British power metal mercenaries TANK — featuring Mick Tucker and Cliff Evans on guitar alongside three new recruits, ex-RAINBOW/YNGWIE MALMSTEEN frontman Doogie White, ex-BRUCE DICKINSON bassist Chris Dale and ex-ZODIAC MINDWARP drummer Dave "Grav" Cavill — released their new album, "War Machine", on October 25 in Europe via Metal Mind Productions (December 7 in the U.S. through MVD). The production was handled by Pedro Ferreira (THE DARKNESS, THERAPY?, MEAT LOAF) and the bulk of the recording was done at Pedrock Studios in London. Drums were laid down by Tony Newton at Steve Harris' (IRON MAIDEN) Barnyard Studios.

Commented Mick and Cliff: "Well, we finally did it. After many months of hard work from everyone involved in the recording of our new studio album, 'War Machine', it's now been unleashed on the public and the initial reaction has been absolutely amazing.

"It's great to know that there are a lot of people out there who still really appreciate real rock music.

"When we started writing the songs for the album, we decided not to follow any particular trends or try and sound like anyone else and definitely not attempt to re-create the old TANK sound. We just put songs together that sounded good to us.

"This is the kind of music we like to listen to. We all have our different influences, spanning across several decades, which has resulted in this album being very varied from start to finish but it comes together as a whole to make a great rock album that should please any fan of the genre.

"Too many albums sound over produced these days and rely on modern studio techniques to make up for lack of talent which results in everything sounding very sterile and soulless. We didn't want 'War Machine' to sound like that. We're competent musicians and we play from the heart.

"Our producer, Pedro Ferreira, understood where we were coming from. He produced the first THE DARKNESS album, 'Permission to Land', so he really knew how to record guitars. We brought some old Marshall, Orange and Boogie amps into the studio along with half a dozen Gibson Les Pauls fitted with a selection of different pick-ups.

"We had a bunch of old analogue pedals plus some cool new pre amps from Tonebone. We cranked those amps up through an old 4 X 12 cab (borrowed from STATUS QUO) while sitting no more than three feet away from them and moved some air. The resulting sound on the album is big, fat and chunky with lovely peaks and really screams when you hit the right spot.

"Reminds us of a girl we know from Copenhagen..."

"War Machine" was released in four different versions: as a jewel case CD, a limited-edition digipak CD including two bonus tracks and LP with one bonus track. The Japanese edition of the album includes two exclusive bonus tracks which won't be available elsewhere.

The track listing for the standard CD edition is as follows:

01. Judgement Day
02. Feast Of The Devil
03. Phoenix Rising
04. War Machine
05. Great Expectations
06. After All
07. The Last Laugh
08. World Without Pity
09. My Insanity

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).