TARJA TURUNEN: Band Lineup For European Tour Revealed

September 29, 2010

Former NIGHTWISH singer Tarja Turunen has announced the lineup of musicians who will join her on her upcoming European tour.

Turunen's band will be as follows:

* Tarja Turunen - Voice
* Christian Kretschmar (SCHILLER) - Keyboards
* Kevin Chown (TONY MACALPINE, TILES) - Bass
* Alex Scholpp (FARMER BOYS) - Guitar
* Max Lilja (HEVEIN, ex-APOCALYPTICA) - Cello

The French band MARKIZE will support Tarja for the entire tour; Poland's AT THE LAKE will open in Krakow, Poland on October 2; France's WHYZDOM will play in Paris, France on October 10; and the U.K. band SOLSIKK will provide support in London, England on October 13.

For a list of upcomiing shows, go to this location.

The second video for "Until My Last Breath", a brand new song from Tarja Turunen, can be viewed below.

"Until My Last Breath" comes off Tarja's sophomore solo album, "What Lies Beneath", which sold around 1,300 copies in the United States in its first week of release. The CD landed at position No. 24 on the Top New Artist Albums (Heatseekers) chart, which lists the best-selling albums by new and developing artists, defined as those who have never appeared in the Top 100 of The Billboard 200.

"What Lies Beneath" has registered the following first-week chart positions:

Finland: #14 (first week),#7 (second week)
Czech Republic: #6
Switzerland: #11
Hungary: #30
Netherlands: #45
Belgium (Flanders): #99
Belgium (Wallonia): #42
UK: #115

"What Lies Beneath" was released in North America on September 14 via The End Records. The CD's first single, "Falling Awake" (featuring Jason Hook from FIVE FINGER DEATH PUNCH),was released August 17 as a limited-edition seven-inch single through The Omega Order and available August 24 at all digital outlets . The track is backed with "The Good Die Young" — a song from the SCORPIONS' most recent album that features Tarja's vocals.

Featuring U.S.-exclusive artwork and a bonus track, "What Lies Beneath" was recorded and produced by Tarja and mixed by Tim Palmer (PEARL JAM, THE CURE, ROBERT PLANT),Colin Richardson (SLIPKNOT, MACHINE HEAD, BULLET FOR MY VALENTINE) and Slamm Andrews (scores of "Angels & Demon", "Pirates of The Caribbean", "Gladiator"). Special guests on ther CD include Phil Labonte (ALL THAT REMAINS),Joe Satriani, Jason Hook (FIVE FINGER DEATH PUNCH),Will Calhoun (LIVING COLOUR),Slovak National Symphony Orchestra and Choir and more.

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email