TERROR To Release 'Trapped In A World' LP Featuring Former Guitarist TODD JONES

February 2, 2021

Long-running Los Angeles hardcore outfit TERROR is preparing to release "Trapped In A World", revisiting its earliest records with former guitarist Todd Jones of NAILS, who will also be producing the band's next LP. Set for release on March 5, the effort will include the song "Overcome", which can be streamed below.

Since its 2002 inception, TERROR has held their own at the forefront of hardcore, through nonstop international touring, an incredible discography, and deep roots in the hardcore community. While their full-time touring has been halted for the past year during the ongoing pandemic, the band has been revisiting material from some of their prior incarnations, and in recent months, the current lineup met up to recapture songs from their earliest days. Joined by Jones, who formed NAILS upon his exit from the band in 2004, at drummer Nick Jett's studio, the band recorded a brutal session of songs from their seminal first two records — 2003's "Lowest Of The Low" (Bridge 9) and 2004'sn"One With The Underdogs" (Trustkill) — serving as a precursor for their upcoming studio album which will be produced by Jones.

Vocalist Scott Vogel reveals: "As the world locked down and terror went on a full pause with the pandemic hitting the USA hard, somehow this created a perfect opportunity with Nick, Todd, and myself to start writing TERROR songs twenty years after we started this band. Of course, all the other members are involved in this process, but with travel restrictions and us being so spread out location-wise, a lot of weekends the three of us were just getting in a room and creating new terror songs and it's been a pretty insane experience. Todd is a deep-thinking maniac that can write hardcore songs like no one I have seen before, and the three of us fell right back into our early mindset and the energy and aggression felt just like it did on day one."

Todd Jones adds: "Got together with the TERROR crew (in a creative sense),for the first time since recording 'One With The Underdogs'. The ideas, guitars, lyrics/vocals, songs came pouring out. Locked in with Nick and Scott as if it hasn't been sixteen years since we played together. There's no shortage of song writers in TERROR and the stuff we've collectively come up with so far... I can't stop listening to these tracks. Magic via musical chemistry. It's our aim to deliver to you a visceral and explosive hardcore record and I really hope you enjoy it."

With twelve of their most seminal and foundational tracks brutally delivered in less than twenty-four minutes, "Trapped In A World" was recorded with the band all playing together at once to capture a more raw and "rehearsal tape" type of energy in July 2020 at Jet To Mars Studio, engineered and mixed by Nick Jett with additional engineering by Ryan Marr, and mastered by Will Putney. The record is completed with cover art by Rico Pakun with additional art by Chase Mason, handwritten elements by Tyler Mullen, layout and design by Martin Stewart.

TERROR will independently release "Trapped In A World" on all digital service providers and on 12" vinyl including new merch and more on March 5.

"Trapped In A World" track listing:

01. Lowest Of The Low
02. Life And Death
03. Out Of My Face
04. Keep Your Distance
05. Less Than Zero
06. Overcome
07. Better Off Without You
08. Crushed By The Truth
09. Not This Time
10. One With The Underdogs
11. Keep Your Mouth Shut
12. Push It Away


Nick Jett - drums
Scott Vogel - vocals
Martin Stewart - guitar
Jordan Posner - guitar
Chris Linkovich - bass

Find more on Terror
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).