TESLA Releases Music Video For 'Miles Away' From 'Full Throttle Live' Album

June 8, 2023

Veteran rockers TESLA released their new live album, "Full Throttle Live", on May 26. The LP includes the band's latest single, "Time To Rock!", plus other songs, all recorded last August at Full Throttle Saloon in Sturgis, South Dakota.

Independently recorded, mixed and produced by guitarist Frank Hannon and bassist Brian Wheat, this new live album truly captures TESLA in pure honest form, and even dives deeper into their roots by recording a live version of the 1974 AEROSMITH classic "S.O.S. (Too Bad)" as a bonus track. The heavier song choices range from "Miles Away" to more recent hard releases like the aforementioned "Time To Rock!" and "Cold Blue Steel". But don't worry, there are old TESLA classics captured too, like "Changes" and "Lazy Days, Crazy Nights", all recorded as TESLA is best — 100% full-throttle live.

"Miles Away" is the lead-off single release from "Full Throttle Live". The guys chose to put this song out first because it represents TESLA and the new live album's harder heavier sound. "Miles Away" is a fan favorite in concert with its heavy 6/8 rolling groove and blistering guitar solo. This is also an ironic song choice because the song lyrics are written about being a "rock star" on the road away from reality and missing home.

Track listing:

01. Miles Away
02. Changes
03. Time to Rock
04. Breakin' Free
05. Call It What You Want
06. Lazy Days Crazy Nights
07. Cold Blue Steel
08. Edison's Medicine
09. S.O.S. (Too Bad)

In a recent interview with Metal Edge, Hannon stated about "Full Throttle Live": "It's 100% live, and it was recorded at the Sturgis Bike Rally, which is one of the great events that we love. It's got motorcycles, rock music and a ton of energy. We love it, and the night that we played there, man, we were on fire. And I think we really captured it with this record… like lightning in a bottle. We've got a bonus track that we'll include, an old AEROSMITH song called 'S.O.S. (Too Bad)', and I don't think too many people know it. We basically went back to California, hunkered down in my garage, set up some microphones, and recorded it live right then and there. I think that song is one of their best songs, and it was killer to get to record it."

Regarding what inspired him and his bandmates to cover "S.O.S. (Too Bad)", Hannon said: "I've always loved it; it frickin' rocks. I feel that it's an example of AEROSMITH in their prime doing those sleazy guitar riffs. The 'Live! Bootleg' album was a game changer for me as a kid. When that came out, I studied that album by listening to it repeatedly through my headphones, and one of the things that I loved most was the raw energy. I've always loved live recordings, which really influenced TESLA in the '80s. When we made our first albums in the studio, like 'Mechanical Resonance' and 'The Great Radio Controversy', we recorded those as a band, together in a room. It was all live. There's a spontaneous energy there that can only be captured when the group is playing together, and I think you really lose that when you're playing separately. There's no way around that. Sure, we've done records that way recently out of convenience, but nothing feels better when we're in a room together, hammering it out. So, to do this AEROSMITH song in my garage live, with no restraints, was like taking the emergency brake off and just stepping on the gas."

In September 2021, TESLA drummer Troy Luccketta announced that he would "take a little time from the road" to spend with family and friends. He has since been replaced at TESLA's gigs by Steve Brown, the younger brother of former DOKKEN drummer Mick Brown.

Due to overwhelming demand, TESLA recently added five shows to its residency at House Of Blues at Mandalay Bay Resort And Casino in Las Vegas, Nevada. The new dates will begin on Friday, September 29.

Find more on Tesla
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).