THE ACACIA STRAIN Drops 'Y' Digital Single, Announces 'Slow Decay' Album

June 12, 2020

Metal titans THE ACACIA STRAIN have just dropped "Y", a new seven-inch and digital release today through Rise Records. It features two songs: "One Thousand Painful Stings", featuring SPIRITBOX singer Courtney LaPlante, and "Earth Will Become Death".

"Shoutout to Courtney for adding her expertise — and different dynamic — to this song extremely last minute," says vocalist Vincent Bennett. "Are we at the bottom? Are we at the end, or are we just getting started?"

THE ACACIA STRAIN has also confirmed that its eighth full-length album, "Slow Decay", will arrive on July 24 via Rise Records. It will include all the songs in the seven inch and digital single drops that were released between February 28 and June 12, as well as two previously unreleased tracks. The full track listing is below.

The music and the rollout itself adhere to the band's very specific vision.

"The whole concept is reality breaking down around us," says Bennett about the album. "We've done our time on earth, broken through the boundaries of what reality actually is, and we're now witnessing our collective descent into madness. Lyrically and sonically, everything reflects that. You're getting the vision piece by piece. The whole theme is a slow dive. By the same token, it organically becomes one record instead of just one big push out of the gate. As soon as you think you're getting the hang of it, we throw out a wrench with the full-length. There's no evidence to suggest we're aren't actually in a living hell. The things happening around us could be out of a comic book or a movie. The idea is, 'This can't be real.' Maybe something happened. Maybe we're all dead and we don't even know it. Maybe we're just living in some augmented reality hellscape of actual planet earth."

"Slow Decay" track listing:

01. Feed A Pigeon Breed A Rat
02. Crippling Poison *
03. Seeing God (feat. Aaron Heard)
04. Solace And Serenity
05. The Lucid Dream (feat. Jess Nyx)
06. I Breathed In The Smoke Deeply It Tasted Like Death And I Smiled (feat. Zach Hatfield)
07. Crossgates
08. Inverted Person
09. Chhinnamasta
10. One Thousand Painful Stings (feat. Courtney LaPlante)
11. Birds Of Paradise, Birds Of Prey *
12. Earth Will Become Death

* Previously unreleased

Find more on The acacia strain
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).