THE ATLAS MOTH To Release 'Coma Noir' Album In February; Watch Video For Title Track

December 15, 2017

Chicago experimental metallers THE ATLAS MOTH have unveiled a brand new music video for the title track of their upcoming fourth album, "Coma Noir". The disc will be released on February 9, 2018 via Prosthetic Records.

Guitarist/vocalist Stavros commented: "This is our third video collaboration with our close personal friend and co-conspirator, director Ryan Oliver. Ryan has been instrumental in presenting the ideas in my head visually and expanding on them further than the stretches of my own imagination. Our first performance video was in great hands with him at the helm."

"Coma Noir" marks a few firsts for THE ATLAS MOTH; it's the first release for L.A. metal indie Prosthetic Records, it's the first to feature Mike Miczek (BROKEN HOPE) on drums, and it's the first time the band worked with an outside producer. On previous releases, the band's guitarist/vocalist Andrew Ragin handled production duties. This time around, longtime friend Sanford Parker (EYEHATEGOD, VOIVOD) stepped in to steer the "Coma Noir" ship. An outside voice, one that the band was comfortable with, was key to channeling all the different elements the band brings to the table and keeping everything cohesive and concise.

As the title suggests, the writing process was influenced by film noir, mixed with a love for the story telling found in graphic novels. Although it stops short of being a concept album, the threads of the initially planned narrative weave throughout the album's nine songs, a vehicle for real life experiences and emotions. Lyrically and thematically, it stays loose, but clues are littered throughout; is the private detective hot on the heels of an evil cult anything more than a shadow or a figment of our imaginations? "Coma Noir" is the only way to unravel it all.

"Coma Noir" track listing:

01. Coma Noir
02. Last Transmission From The Late, Great Planet Earth
03. Galactic Brain
04. The Streets of Bombay
05. Actual Human Blood
06. Smiling Knife
07. Furious Gold
08. The Frozen Crown
09. Chloroform

The band will kick off its 2018 plans with a North American tour with ROYAL THUNDER and MIRRORS OF PSYCHIC WARFARE. Further tour dates, including European shows, are expected in due course.

Find more on The atlas moth
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).