THE CULT: Performance Footage Of Previously Unreleased Song Available

September 20, 2010

Fan-filmed video footage of THE CULT performing a previously unreleased song, "Embers", on September 14, 2010 at 4th and B in San Diego, California can be viewed below.

Following THE CULT's recent successful European tour, which included sharing the stage with IGGY POP & THE STOOGES at Sonisphere (United Kingdom) and Pinkpop (Holland) festivals, the band released the first of its recent recordings on September 14 on the newly formatted "capsule" collection (the capsule format being the vision of singer Ian Astbury).

Through a partnership with Aderra Media Technologies, THE CULT's capsule consists of two new songs — "Every Man And Woman Is A Star" and "Siberia" — plus live recordings from the recent internationally sold-out "Love Live" tour, as well as the short film "A Prelude to Ruins" (directed by Ian Astbury and Rick Rogers). The capsule is available in several formats, including MP3, CD/DVD (DualDisc) and 12-inch vinyl in limited quantities for a limited time. The first song, "Every Man and Woman Is A Star", was debuted at Sonisphere and released the same day as an iTunes exclusive. The latest recordings were guided by legendary producer Chris Goss (QUEENS OF THE STONE AGE, MASTERS OF REALITY) and are described in a press release as "a mixture of violent guitars, emotive vocal performances with high melody and driving beats."

In 2009, Aderra recorded several live shows on THE CULT's U.S. and European tours, including a sold-out appearance at the Royal Albert Hall in London. The live recordings were released exclusively through a USB flash drive housed in a dog tag necklace.

The success of this initial project lead to this partnership to release the new capsule material on multiple formats.

THE CULT in 2008 parted ways with Roadrunner Records, the label that released the group's latest album, "Born into This". That CD sold 12,600 copies in the United States in its first week of release to debut at position No. 70 on The Billboard 200 chart. It was recorded in London with producer Youth (VERVE, PRIMAL SCREAM).

THE CULT's current touring lineup includes principals Ian Astbury and Billy Duffy alongside bassist Chris Wyse, drummer John Tempesta (ex-WHITE ZOMBIE, TESTAMENT, EXODUS, HELMET) and rhythm guitarist Mike Dimkich.

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).