THE CULT To Release 'Hidden City' Album In February; Hear First Single 'Dark Energy'

November 6, 2015

When Rolling Stone hailed THE CULT as the Messianic moment of Coachella in 2014, few knew that their next release would be unveiled on February 5, 2016 in the form of "Hidden City", their tenth studio album (and second for Cooking Vinyl). The follow-up to 2012's "Choice Of Weapon" was written by singer Ian Astbury and guitarist Billy Duffy and was produced by Bob Rock, who has previously worked with METALLICA and MÖTLEY CRÜE.

The final installment in a trilogy of recordings, completing 2007's "Born Into This" ("The Fall") and 2012's "Choice Of Weapon" ("Dark Night of the Soul"),"Hidden City" is a tightly woven series of experience and visions with underlying themes of redemption and rebirth threaded through THE CULT's visceral music. Astbury's signature baritone and blood-soaked lyrics paired with Duffy's smouldering, textured guitar tones, create a musical environment that is fearless and peerless.

From the sonic assault of the opening track "Dark Energy", "Hidden City" launches quickly into the dark underbelly of its subject matter. Stemming from the Spanish phrase "La Ciudad Oculta" or "hidden city," the album reflects an awakening of consciousness through its tone and complexity.

"Hidden City is a metaphor for our spiritual lives, our intimate interior lives," explains Astbury. "I find today's gurus are trying to peddle some cure, product or insight as if it's a new phenomenon. My place is to respond, not react, to observe, participate and share through words and music. There is no higher authority than the heart."

"Hidden City" track listing:

01. Dark Energy
02. No Love Lost
03. Dance The Night
04. In Blood
05. Birds Of Paradise
06. Hinterland
07. G O A T
08. Deeply Ordered Chaos
09. Avalanche Of Light
10. Lilies
11. Heathens
12. Sound and Fury

The song "Dark Energy" can now be streamed below.

THE CULT played its first show with new bass player Grant Fitzpatrick on October 28 at Stubb's Bar-B-Q in Austin, Texas.

THE CULT is preparing for a run of six dates with spiritual cousins and legendary iconoclasts PRIMAL SCREAM. Kicking off on November 12 at Portland, Oregon's Crystal Ballroom, the trek will see both bands will be celebrating their unified solidarity and their forthcoming albums.

The details are as follows:

Nov. 12 - Crystal Ballroom - Portland, OR
Nov. 14 - Showbox Showdo - Seattle, WA
Nov. 15 - Queen Elizabeth Theatre - Vancouver, BC
Nov. 17 - Warfield Theater - San Francisco, CA
Nov. 19 - House of Blues - San Diego, CA
Nov. 20 - Palladium - Hollywood, CA

"Choice Of Weapon" sold around 11,000 copies in the United States in its first week of release to land at position No. 34 on The Billboard 200 chart. The CD was made available on May 22, 2012 via Cooking Vinyl.

THE CULT is Ian Astbury (vocals),Billy Duffy (guitars),John Tempesta (drums),Grant Fitzpatrick (bass),Damon Fox (keyboards, rhythm guitar).



Find more on The cult
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email