THE ETERNAL Issues Recording Update

January 31, 2008

Australian atmospheric/gothic/doom metal band THE ETERNAL has issued the following update:

"Terry [Vainoras; guitar] and Mark [Kelson; guitar/vocals] spent the end of December and the first weeks of the new year tracking the mammoth amount of guitars that we have written for [the new THE ETERNAL album] 'Kartika'. So with a bunch of long days and sleepless nights we managed to get through everything with the ever-so-hard-working engineer Ian Miller. Ian is from Adelaide and came down to Melbourne for a few weeks to help make this all become reality for us. Working with Ian on this album has been like having an extra member on board, he has been working amazing hours on this project and we think it would be hard to of made it to this point without him.

"After the completion of electric guitars and on Ian's return to Adelaide, Mark slipped into Palm Studios, Melbourne for 16 days to track bass/acoustic guitars and vocals with Endel Rivers who most of you know from our last album 'Sleep Of Reason'. Endel has been working overseas for the last year and we were lucky enough to catch him on a brief return to Australia and even luckier to get some studio time with him! It was worth the efforts in the end and we are very happy with the results. Mark's vocal work is set to outshine his efforts on 'Sleep Of Reason'. Tracking all the main and backing vocals, Mark had his work cut out for him as there are much more backing vocals and harmonies this time around.

"So what is next? All files from the Palm Studio sessions have gone to Ian Miller in Adelaide, so he can begin the huge task of editing and mixing 'Kartika'. We also have a few additional guests jumping on board with Duncan Patterson (ÍON) adding mandolin to the track 'Kartika' and Russian singer Emily A. Saaen (ÍON) adding some additional backing vocals.

"Within the next few weeks we will begin the mixing process and aim to have it all in the bag by the end of March."

"Kartika" projected track listing (in no particular order):

01. Self Inflicted
02. Means for an Ending
03. Blood
04. Without Reason
05. A Pale Reflection
06. Illuminate
07. Walk Beside You
08. Brighter Day
09. Kartika
10. Silence
11. July
12. Lost Our Way
13. Inside the Grey
14. I've Seen The Dream Through Someone Else's Eyes
15. Sunshine
16. Frozen Sun
17. Last Embrace

THE ETERNAL recently uploaded video footage of the band performing a new track, "Without Reason", in Rostock, Germany on May 11, 2007. According to the band, "[The video was] shot multi-camera and the sound is from the desk so the quality is not too bad!" Watch the clip below.

THE ETERNAL released its sophomore album, "Sleep of Reason", in 2005 through Firebox Records to critical acclaim, with stunning artwork provided by renowned artist Travis Smith.

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).