THE GATHERING: North American Release Date Set For 'A Sound Relief' DVD

August 19, 2005

World-renowned Dutch rock band THE GATHERING is set to release their double-DVD, "A Sound Relief", in the U.S./Canada on October 25, 2005 via The End Records. The DVD will be made available in Europe through the band's own label, Psychonaut Records, in mid-October.

The two-disc set features a wide array of items for fans of the band to enjoy. Disc One includes the live concert the band recorded on May 23, 2005 at the famous Paradiso in Amsterdam. The live recording was recorded in DTS 5.1, a truly remarkable sound quality, which enhances the already emotional and powerful flow of the band's musical delivery. Disc Two features great bonus extras like their own tour impressions caught on video, video interviews and a TV special about the 15-year career of THE GATHERING. The bonus disc also showcases a collection of beautiful 3-D animation clips, which were especially designed for the band by promising Dutch and Polish 3-D artists Michel de Klein and Marcin Pazera. Also of note, The End Records mail-order will be offering a very limited package for the DVD release. It will include the double-DVD, a shirt and poster style photo from the show signed by the band.

"A Sound Relief" DVD track listing:

Disc One:

Live concert at Paradiso, Amsterdam, May 23, 2005:

01. The Big Sleep
02. Broken Glass
03. Rescue Me
04. Alone
05. Travel
06. Red is a Slow Colour
07. A life All Mine
08. Golden Grounds
09. Amity
10. In Motion II
11. Marooned
12. Souvenirs
13. Like Fountains
14. Herbal Movement

Disc Two:

Tour Impression 2004
Bonus features:
Dutch TV special "15 Year The Gathering"
Italian video-interview
Animation Music Clips:
"The Big Sleep"
"Broken Glass"
"A Life all Mine"
"Red is a Slow Colour"

As previously reported, THE GATHERING will be releasing a luxurious double CD set full of rare and unreleased material, "Accessories - Rarities And B-Sides", on August 22 via Century Media Records. CD1 offers "the b-sides" from all of their out-of-print CD-singles, including rarities like "Adrenaline" and "Theme From The Cyclist", as well as cover versions from TALK TALK, DEAD CAN DANCE and SLOWDIVE. CD 2 is full of unreleased demo recordings.

At the end of 1996, THE GATHERING recorded demos for their "Nighttime Birds" album with German rocker Eroc (GROBSCHNITT, etc.). For the first time ever, you can hear all of the alternate versions as well as two instrumentals that were not used on "Nighttime Birds".

The other lost pearl from the band's archive are the so-called "Texel Tapes", with pre-production recordings for "How To Measure A Planet?", including great alternate versions. "Accessories - Rarities And B-Sides" also features detailed liner notes by the band, rare photos and a special packaging. More information is available at this location.

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email