THE LURKING FEAR Feat. AT THE GATES Members: 'Death, Madness, Horror, Decay' Album Due In November

September 19, 2021

THE LURKING FEAR, the old-school death metal group from sweden featuring members of AT THE GATES, DISFEAR, GOD MACABRE, SKITSYSTEM, TORMENTED and THE HAUNTED, will release its sophomore album, "Death, Madness, Horror, Decay", on November 19 via Century Media Records.

Vocalist Tomas Lindberg comments: "With our second album, we really wanted to produce a more coherent listening experience. The first one was a blast to put together, and I do love that it is dynamic, but we talked a lot about it and this time around we wanted the record to have more of a unified sound, so to say…We wanted it to sound like a band with their own identity. Therefore the writing sessions were more of a unified effort this time around, and all the writers in the band are part of more songs. The album is still dynamic, as it has both intense, faster 'rippers' and a few more heavy moments, but the overall sound is more convincing, to my ears. I also wanted to evolve the lyrical concept further. Of course, there is still tons of Lovecraft influence throughout the album, but I also tampered with some more current horror writers and philosophers. I guess it is not a coincidence, but this album feels like the ugly stepchild of the new AT THE GATES album, lyrically. I delved into the ideas conveyed by thinkers like Ligotti and Thacker and added an extra layer of cosmic horror to the already Lovecraftian universe of THE LURKING FEAR. Still the same basic ideas, but just more developed, and philosophical, I guess you could say.

"Also, this time around, we talked more with our producer, Per Stålberg, before, so he and us were on the same page about which kind of album we wanted to make. The new album is more of everything, and we feel that the band finally is reaching its full potential. Enjoy!"

The official Max Ljungberg-produced music video for the first single from "Death, Madness, Horror, Decay", a song called "Death, Madness, Horror, Decay", can be seen below.

Lindberg comments: "'Cosmic Macabre' was one of the first tracks to be finalized for the new album. It is an old-school Swedish death metal scorcher, but has some more quirky stuff thrown in for good measure. The lyrics deal with what lurks beyond the limits of the human comprehension. We felt it was a good first representation of the album as it contains a lot of the different elements of the record in one song. Let the primal darkness tear you apart!"

"Death, Madness, Horror, Decay" follows up THE LURKING FEAR's acclaimed debut album "Out Of The Voiceless Grave" (2017) and was recorded at Welfare Studios in Gothenburg, Sweden with Per Stålberg and Kalle Lilja. The LP features epic artwork once again conceived by Stefan Thanneur and also includes a special guest appearance by Chris Reifert (AUTOPSY, ex-DEATH) on vocals for the track "Kaleidoscopic Mutations".

"Death, Madness, Horror, Decay" track listing:

01. Abyssal Slime
02. Death Reborn
03. Cosmic Macabre
04. Funeral Abyss
05. Death, Madness, Horror, Decay
06. Architects Of Madness
07. In A Thousand Horrors Crowned
08. Kaleidoscopic Mutations
09. Ageless Evil
10. One In Flesh
11. Restless Death
12. Leech Of The Aeons

The album's limited first-pressing digipak CD edition will come two very special cover versions as bonus tracks, "The Curse", originally by SLAUGHTER and "Seance", originally by POSSESSED. "Death, Madness, Horror, Decay" will also be available as LP on 180-gram black vinyl with a poster.

THE LURKING FEAR lineup (left to right in photo by Max Ljungberg):

Andreas Axelson - bass, backing vocals
Adrian Erlandsson - drums
Tomas Lindberg - vocals
Fredrik Wallenberg - guitar, backing vocals
Jonas Stålhammar - lead guitar, mellotron, organ and backing vocals

Find more on At the gates
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).