January 31, 2011

Sweden's THE QUILL has tapped songwriter/producer/artist Chris Laney (real name: Ulf Larsson) to mix the band's new album, due later in the year. The group states, "[Chris] has already presented us with some samples and it sounds really promising. Needless to say, we are psyched!"

Behind-the-scenes footage from the recording sessions for THE QUILL's new album can be viewed below.

Four years after the release of the group's most recent studio album, THE QUILL is ready to once again spread its musical gospel. We are talking heavy rock firmly rooted in the Seventies but vibrant and updated rather than retro.

Two new songs from THE QUILL"Bring It On" and "Medicine" — are available for streaming using the ReverbNation TuneWidget below (click on "Songs" tab).

With the touring cycle for THE QUILL's fifth album, "In Triumph", completed, the band and singer Magnus Ekwall parted ways and THE QUILL was put on the backburner. Drummer Jolle Atlagic joined now-defunct Finnish glam legends HANOI ROCKS — touring Europe and Japan in the process — and also did a stint in THE REAL MCCOY band alongside FOO FIGHTERS guitarist Chris Shiflett. Christian Carlsson (guitar) and Robert Triches (bass) also kept busy with other projects. In early 2010, it was THE QUILL time again. Songs were written and Magz Arnar filled the vacant vocalist spot. It was a perfect match. The versatile singer has heaps of energy and a powerful voice that fits THE QUILL like a glove. Magz has the required range to sing the old stuff but also a rawness that the band was looking for.

THE QUILL 2011 is:

Magz Arnar (vocals)
Christian Carlsson (guitar)
Jolle Atlagic (drums)
Hot Señor Rob (bass)

"In Triumph" was released in April 2006 via SPV/Steamhammer. The CD was recorded at Area 51 studios in Celle, Germany with producer Tommy Newton (VICTORY, UFO, HELLOWEEN).

Web music playerQuantcast

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email