THE RAVEN AGE Feat. IRON MAIDEN Bassist's Son GEORGE HARRIS: 'Exile' Album Due In September

July 24, 2021

THE RAVEN AGE, the U.K.-based melodic metal band featuring IRON MAIDEN bassist Steve Harris's son George Harris, will release "Exile" on September 17 via Explore1 Music Group/EX1 Records. The album is a beautifully curated selection of songs featuring 11 tracks, including two new original songs, plus fan favorites from their 2019 release "Conspiracy" as well as hand-picked live tracks from tours in front of massive audiences in Chile, Canada, the United Kingdom and the United States.

"The concept for 'Exile' is something we had been toying with for a while," says vocalist Matt James. "We had done alternate acoustic style versions of songs before and the response was so positive it made us think about doing a whole album this way! Obviously, THE RAVEN AGE is first and foremost a metal band but due to the melodic nature of our songs they can lend themselves to this kind of treatment. We were pleasantly surprised how great so many of the songs sounded stripped back to their bare bones."

He continues: "Each reimagined song has now taken on a new life of its own and gives the listener a completely different perspective from them. The two new tracks, 'Wait For Me' and 'No Man's Land', were a homage to this project's concept and we hope it shows people the band's versatility and different dimensions. 'Exile' is a passion project for our fans in between albums and with the current climate of the planet, it gave us the perfect excuse to roll with it!"

Track one and lead single "No Man's Land" is out now with an accompanying lyric video. George Harris recalls on writing the track: "'No Man's Land' is a song reflective of the mental state I was in when everything hit at the start of 2020. The band had a huge couple of years touring wise and had built up so much momentum, the morale in the camp was higher than ever before. Our last gig of 2019 was at the London O2 arena alongside ALTER BRIDGE and SHINEDOWN, so to go from those heights to nothing was devastating for us."

"We're at the stage in our careers where we rely on that momentum and buzz to keep us reaching forward, and to have the rug pulled from underneath us left us in a state of limbo where we suddenly didn't know if everything we'd built so far and worked so hard for was all for nothing."

THE RAVEN AGE has also announced a streaming event, "The Year The World Stood Still". The show will take place on Thursday, September 16 in celebration of "Exile"'s release. With the ongoing pandemic complicating travel plans, the band wanted to ensure that fans all around the globe could experience the "Exile" premiere first-hand. The band will be accompanied by a string quartet and pianist and the night will include a live question-and- session with THE RAVEN AGE. Tickets for 'The Year The World Stood Still' are available now here.

"Exile" track listing:

01. No Man's Land
02. Wait For Me
03. Fireflies
04. As The World Stood Still
05. A Look Behind The Mask
06. Dying Embers
07. Hold High The Fleur De Lis
08. Seventh Heaven (Live In Santiago)
09. Angel In Disgrace (Live In Los Angeles)
10. Surrogate (Live In Vancouver)
11. Forgotten World (Live In London)


Matt James (vocals)
George Harris (guitar)
Tony Maue (guitar)
Matt Cox (bass)
Jai Patel (drums)

Photo credit: John McMurtie

Find more on Iron maiden
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).