THE SHOWDOWN: First Studio Webisode Available

The first in a series of webisodes documenting the making of "Blood in the Gears", the fourth album from the Tennessee's riff-tastic southern metal outfit THE SHOWDOWN, can be viewed below. Due on August 24 via Solid State Records, the follow-up to 2008's "Back Breaker" was recorded at Anthem Productions in Nashville, and produced by THE SHOWDOWN's bassist Jeremiah Scott.

"'Blood in the Gears' is true to what THE SHOWDOWN has always been about in the past: heavy, thrashy, southern, groovy," explains vocalist David Bunton. "Jeremiah Scott recorded and produced the record, all in house and on our own terms. We are sounding like we want to and saying exactly what we want to. That's what heavy metal is all about."

"Blood in the Gears" track listing:

01. Man Named Hell
02. Heavy Lies The Crown
03. Bring It Down
04. Take Me Home
05. Blood In The Gears
06. Dogma Enthroned
07. No Escape
08. The Crooked Path
09. Graveyard Of Empires
10.) Diggin' My Own Grave

Founded in 2003 by David Bunton and Josh Childers, THE SHOWDOWN came roaring out of the gate with the monstrous-yet-spiritually-gripping debut, "A Chorus of Obliteration", in 2004. Despite numerous lineup changes, THE SHOWDOWN has prevailed as one of Christian metal's longstanding veteran acts.

With several high-profile tours under its belt, including a run on Ozzfest in 2007, and treks with LAMB OF GOD, KILLSWITCH ENGAGE, NORMA JEAN, AS I LAY DYING, and more, THE SHOWDOWN is set to once again crack up the throttle on "Blood in the Gears".


David Bunton - Vocals
Josh Childers - Guitar
Patrick Judge - Guitar
Jeremiah Scott - Bass


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).