THE TROOPS OF DOOM Feat. Ex-SEPULTURA Guitarist JAIRO 'TORMENTOR' GUEDZ: 'Dethroned Messiah' Music Video

May 6, 2022

THE TROOPS OF DOOM, the new Brazilian band featuring former SEPULTURA guitarist Jairo "Tormentor" Guedz, has released the official music video for the song "Dethroned Messiah". The track is taken from THE TROOPS OF DOOM's debut album, titled "Antichrist Reborn", which arrived last month via Alma Mater Records, the Portuguese powerhouse label run by MOONSPELL's Fernando Ribeiro. It is digitally available via Blood Blast distribution.

THE TROOPS OF DOOM also includes acclaimed graphic artist Marcelo Vasco on guitar, Alex Kafer (ex-NECROMANCER, EXPLICIT HATE, ENTERRO) on vocals/bass and Alexandre Oliveira (SOUTHERN BLACKLIST) on drums. The band's goal is to revisit the essence of 1980s-style death metal, exploring a more primitive sound that takes listeners back to that era, while remaining fresh and genuine.

"Antichrist Reborn" is the follow-up to THE TROOPS OF DOOM's critically acclaimed EPs "The Rise Of Heresy" (2020) and "The Absence Of Light" (2021),which have been lauded by both the international music press and fans alike.

Says Guedz: "We are very happy that we are finally about to release our debut full-length album. We already have it composed basically since 2020 but due to the pandemic, we ended up deciding to postpone its release. Now with most people vaccinated and restrictions easing, we expect 2022 to be a good year for the return of shows and touring. Fingers crossed! We're confident about it and can't wait to hit the road. The suggestive title of the album 'Antichrist Reborn' has a strong connection with the song 'Antichrist', from my time at SEPULTURA back in the days, and of course, because our sound, that's a rescue of that death metal aura from the '80s."

Ribeiro states: "I have been a fan of Brazilian extreme music, namely death metal since the late '80s. It shaped me as a musician and as a metalhead as much or maybe even more than the classic extreme metal bands from Europe and the U.S. 'Antichrist Reborn' holds the key to open the gates and unleash those demons upon us in 2022! It's just the brilliant missing link between that past and the glorious TROOPS OF DOOM future. My head is in the clouds and I am totally psyched to have this top of the chain band in my label. You won't believe how hellishly strong is this record. TROOPS OF DOOM will claim the title of best death metal album of the year!"

"Antichrist Reborn" was mixed by Swedish producer Peter Tägtgren at the iconic The Abyss Studio and mastered by Jonas Kjellgren at Blacklounge Studio, Sweden. Featuring very special guest musicians such as João Gordo (RATOS DE PORÃO) and Alex Camargo and Moyses Kolesne (KRISIUN),THE TROOPS OF DOOM unleash true old-school death metal in its purest form; dirty, primitive, and brutally powerful as it should be. The cover art was painted by Sergio "AlJarrinha" Oliveira, the artist behind SEPULTURA's "Bestial Devastation" original artwork.

"Antichrist Reborn" track listing:

01. Dethroned Messiah
02. Far From Your God
03. Altar Of Delusion
04. Grief
05. Pray Into The Abyss
06. The Rebellion
07. Deserters From Paradise
08. Apocalypse MMXXII
09. A Queda
10. Preacher's Paradox
11. Necromancer (bonus track)
12. The Usurper (exclusive CD bonus track)


Jairo "Tormentor" Guedz - Guitar
Alex Kafer - Bass, Vocals
Marcelo Vasco - Guitar
Alexandre Oliveira - Drums

SEPULTURA was formed in 1984 in Belo Horizonte, the capital city of Minas Gerais. Jairo joined the group the following year and played on the band's first two releases, 1985's "Bestial Devastation" EP and their 1986 full-length debut, "Morbid Visions". He also participated in the early songwriting sessions for 1987's "Schizophrenia".

In early 1987, Jairo quit SEPULTURA and was replaced by São Paulo-based guitarist Andreas Kisser.

Find more on Sepultura
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).