March 13, 2018

The German-American band THEM is described in a press release as "one of the most remarkable and charismatic new metal outfits that Steamhammer/SPV have signed in recent years." The group's masterminds are American vocalist KK Fossor (ex-COLDSTEEL) and German guitarist Markus Ullrich, co-founder of prog metal band LANFEAR and member of speed/thrash metal act SEPTAGON as well as instrumental project A COSMIC TRAIL. American Markus Johansson (SYLENCER, 4ARM) is the second guitarist and the rhythm section features his two fellow-countrymen, bassist Mike LePond (SYMPHONY X, ROSS THE BOSS) and drummer Angel Cotte (DEMOLITION HAMMER). The lineup is completed by German keyboardist Richie Seibel (LANFEAR, IVANHOE). THEM's style consists of gutsy power/thrash metal with distinctly American leanings. The release of their second album, "Manor Of The Se7en Gables", has been announced for October 2018.

THEM was founded in summer 2007 by frontman KK Fossor and started out as a KING DIAMOND tribute band. The arrival of guitarist Markus Ullrich in autumn 2013 marked a change in the group's concept and a move towards their own material. Autumn 2016 saw the arrival of their debut album, "Sweet Hollow", accompanied by a tour through the U.S. and Canada alongside HELLOWEEN. The "Sweet Hollow" concept will now be continued in the twelve songs on "Manor Of The Se7en Gables".

Head of Steamhammer, Olly Hahn, has great confidence in the new SPV signing: "Thanks to their charismatic frontman KK Fossor and their extremely interesting concept it shouldn't take long for THEM to establish themselves at the very top of the metal scene," he says. "We're delighted to support them in achieving their goal."

Markus Ullrich is also thoroughly optimistic: "We're convinced that SPV is the perfect label to take the next steps with and turn THEM into an internationally acclaimed act."

Photo from left to right: Markus Johansson (THEM, guitars),Angel Cotte (THEM, drums),Richie Seibel (THEM, keys),Olly Hahn (head of Steamhammer),KK Fossor (THEM, vocals),Alex Palma (THEM, live bass player),Markus Ullrich (THEM, guitars),Björn von Oettingen (head of promotion, Steamhammer)

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).