THENIGHTTIMEPROJECT Feat. Former Members Of KATATONIA: 'Final Light' Video

May 28, 2019

"Final Light", the new video from melancholic Swedish outfit THENIGHTTIMEPROJECT, formed by current and former members of KATATONIA, OCTOBER TIDE and LETTERS FROM THE COLONY, can be seen below. The song is taken from THENIGHTTIMEPROJECT's second album, "Pale Season", which will be released on June 28 through Debemur Morti Productions.

THENIGHTTIMEPROJECT is comprised of Fredrik and Mattias Norrman, (guitars and bass, respectively),who spent fifteen years in KATATONIA, and are now also active in OCTOBER TIDE, as well as guitarist/vocalist Alexander Backlund and drummer Jonas Sköld, who both also currently hold rank in LETTERS FROM THE COLONY.

"Pale Season" was recorded at Valley Sound Studio/Nailvillage, mixed by Alexander Backlund at Nailvillage, mastered by Tony Lindgren at Fascination Street Studios, and completed with cover art by Denis Forkas and design by Kadriel Betsen.

Backlund states about "Final Light": "'Final Light' is about the relativity of time. It can feel as if life is slowing down while time is speeding up, or vice versa. We all get caught in the clasp of stagnation sometimes, and it's important to recognize and act upon it. Time is a finite resource. I really enjoy the instrumentation as it captures elements I like from the '70s, '80s, and '90s. You got the roaring organs, the big hair-metal guitars in the middle 8 section together with a grunge-like heaviness and aggression."

Of the new video itself, video, which was directed by Dronicon Films, Backlund offers, "Dronicon Films did an amazing job on the video as well. It's a different angle, but visually it just works so well together with the overall texture and ambience of the song. At times it kind of looks like the cover art for the album 'Dirt' by ALICE IN CHAINS, but with an Argentinian viking shaman."

The album title, "Pale Season" — despite what some might think — does not refer to the eight months where the weather in Sweden is a signature grey. Instead, it refers to those less-colorful patches of memory — years that fly by without anything spectacular happening, which pale in comparison to the vividness of one's childhood or the early days of romance. This, in other words, is an album for all those moments lost in between the extremes of the emotional spectrum. Elements of PORCUPINE TREE, OPETH, ANATHEMA, KATATONIA and A PERFECT CIRCLE combine to create a record that is sublime in every way. A paean to melancholia, "Pale Season" is also not without its moments of physical and emotional heft and will launch THENIGHTTIMEPROJECT on to the international stage.

Fredrik Norrman comments: "I'm very pleased to finally be able to give some info over what we've been doing the past year. This is easily one of the best albums I've ever been part of. Very proud of what we've managed to achieve."

"Pale Season" track listing:

01. Hound
02. Rotting Eden
03. Binary
04. Final Light
05. Embers
06. Pale Season
07. Anti Meridian
08. Signals In The Sky
09. Meridian

Find more on Katatonia
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).