THENIGHTTIMEPROJECT Feat. Former Members Of KATATONIA: 'Pale Season' Album Due In June

March 28, 2019

Swedish collective THENIGHTTIMEPROJECT — founded by current and former members of KATATONIA, OCTOBER TIDE and LETTERS FROM THE COLONY — has announced the details of its impending second LP, "Pale Season", now confirmed for release on June 28 through Debemur Morti Productions.

THENIGHTTIMEPROJECT is comprised of Fredrik and Mattias Norrman, (guitars and bass, respectively),who spent fifteen years in KATATONIA, and are now also active in OCTOBER TIDE, as well as guitarist/vocalist Alexander Backlund and drummer Jonas Sköld, who both also currently hold rank in LETTERS FROM THE COLONY.

The album title, "Pale Season" — despite what some might think — does not refer to the eight months where the weather in Sweden is a signature grey. Instead, it refers to those less-colorful patches of memory — years that fly by without anything spectacular happening, which pale in comparison to the vividness of one's childhood or the early days of romance. This, in other words, is an album for all those moments lost in between the extremes of the emotional spectrum. Elements of PORCUPINE TREE, OPETH, ANATHEMA, KATATONIA and A PERFECT CIRCLE combine to create a record that is sublime in every way. A paean to melancholia, "Pale Season" is also not without its moments of physical and emotional heft and will launch THENIGHTTIMEPROJECT on to the international stage.

Guitarist Fredrik Norrman comments: "I'm very pleased to finally be able to give some info over what we've been doing the past year. This is easily one of the best albums I've ever been part of. Very proud of what we've managed to achieve."

"Pale Season" was recorded at Valley Sound Studio/Nailvillage, mixed by Alexander Backlund at Nailvillage, mastered by Tony Lindgren at Fascination Street Studios, and completed with cover art by Denis Forkas and design by Kadriel Betsen.

Debemur Morti Productions will release THENIGHTTIMEPROJECT's "Pale Season" on CD, LP, and all digital platforms on June 28. Stand by for audio previews, preorders, and much more to be issued in the weeks ahead.

"Pale Season" track listing:

01. Hound
02. Rotting Eden
03. Binary
04. Final Light
05. Embers
06. Pale Season
07. Anti Meridian
08. Signals In The Sky
09. Meridian

Find more on Katatonia
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email