THOR To Tour In Support Of New Album, DVD

June 28, 2005

Smog Veil Records has announced U.S. and Canadian tour dates for THOR. The band will tour in support of the new album, entitled "Thor against the World", and retrospective DVD, entitled "An-THOR-logy", both set for release on July 12, 2005.

Jon Mikl Thor — a rock music, film and bodybuilding legend (Mr. America and Mr. Canada titles) — has worked to make each stop on the tour a crowd-pleasing event featuring theatrics, all new costumes and specially designed props. Each night the show will be tailored to the specific parameters of the venues the tour is hitting. There will be feats of strength including bending steel bars with his teeth, crushing stacks of bricks on his chest and so forth. In Thor's own words, "I will give them a show they will never forget! I will give them rock 'n' roll and a whole lot more!"

The drama on stage is connected directly to the content of the songs and the set lists will span several albums. "It is a concept," Thor explains. "We're taking the songs fans know and love the most and playing them, but also acting them out." The recurring themes include the warrior or dark avenger character who tells the tales of battles with ogres, monsters, snakes, wizards, demons and aliens. He is on a quest to find the magic lantern.

The tales are loosely based on Norse mythology. "Really the stories convey the message that if you believe in yourself you can find the strength and the perseverance to overcome any obstacle," Thor confirms.

In many of the tour markets the rock show will either be preceded by or followed by a showing of the new film, "Intercessor: Another Rock 'n' Roll Nightmare". The film is being released to DVD (SRS Cinema) and Smog Veil will release the soundtrack on Apple iTunes, which features Thor with special guests like the STREET WALKIN' CHEETAHS, SWEET JUSTICE, DOA, Joe Preston (MELVINS) plus three bonus tracks from original film "Rock 'n' Roll Nightmare".

The Boston show at the Coolidge Theater on August 3 will be the premiere for
"Intercessor: Another Rock 'n' Roll Nightmare" and the Rainbow Theater in London, Ontario is planning an event surrounding the concert and the film for Monday, August 8. The stop in Chicago on August 10 will be part of a Thor Film Festival featuring the live rock show as well as screenings of "Zombie Nightmare" (also starring Adam West and Tia Carerra); "Rock 'n' Roll Nightmare" (soon to be released to DVD by Synapse Films) and "Intercessor: Another Rock 'n' Roll Nightmare". In related Thor film news, two tracks from the album ("Creature Feature" and "Easy Woman") will appear in the movie "Creepies II", now in production.

Jon Mikl Thor hand-picked top musicians to hit the road with him to promote "Thor against the World". The band will include Steve Stack (best known for playing the tracks "Invader" and "Strange Lantern" on the album "Thunderstruck: Tales from the Equinox") on guitar. Mike Favata who hails from the band's peak period and is featured on releases such as "Unchained", "Only The Strong", "Recruits ­ Wild in the Streets" will grace the drum kit again for this extended tour and John Ramirez (THE PROBE, STREET WALKIN CHEETAHS, NUDIST PRIEST) has been recruited to handle bass duties.

The tour will also feature guest artists in selected markets, including Damien Storm and Steve Price. Storm will perform his composition "Zekey Zombie" from the horror film "Intercessor", which Thor stars in. And Price who was Thor's guitar player through the 1980s will come onboard for selected East Coast dates. Production team the Messiaz, a.k.a. Bruce Duff, on keyboards and Frank Meyer (who also co-wrote much of the album) on guitar, will join the band for the West Coast dates.

Many of the shows have sponsors like Sam Ash for Orlando, FL on July 23 and Pump Restaurant in New York City for the show at the Continental in New York City on August 5. Additional events and sponsors are being confirmed daily.

The track listing for the upcoming DVD, "An-THOR-ology" is:

01. Opening/News clips 1979
02. Action live on Merv Griffin 1976
03. Sleeping Giant video 1977
04. Keep the Dogs Away video 1977
05. Catch a Tiger video 1977
06. Keep the Dogs Away - live 1979
07. Rosie - live 1979
08. Thor-u-mentary
09. Rag-Na-Rock - live 1981
10. Special Flight - live 1981
11. Phantom of My Nightmare - live 1981
12. Uncle Floyd Show 1982
13. Gladiator Stomp - live 1982
14. Channel 72 TV Appearance
15. Thunder on the Tundra - Channel 72
16. Anger - Channel 72
17. Only the Strong/When God's Collide live footage 1984-1985
18. Chevy TV Commercial 1985
19. Kromer TV Commercial 1985
20. U68 Power Hour Promos 1985
21. Knock 'Em Down video 1985
22. End Credits
23. Bonus material

Complete running time is one hour and 30 minutes.

THOR tour itinerary can be found at

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).