TOMMY LEE's METHODS OF MAYHEM: 'Fight Song' Available For Streaming

June 11, 2010

"Fight Song", a brand new track from MÖTLEY CRÜE drummer Tommy Lee's METHODS OF MAYHEM project, can be streamed using the audio player below (courtesy of AOL's Noiscreep).

The new METHODS OF MAYHEM album, now entitled "A Public Disservice Announcement", is set for release on September 21 and features Tommy Lee collaborating with the world. Lee commented, "When I founded METHODS in 1999, the whole purpose of the band was to be all over the place. In keeping with that, this METHODS isn't anything like the last one. There's no hip hop and there's no roster of guest stars. This time, it's me, my band, and the world."

Tommy Lee and his team, including producer Scott Humphrey, singer-guitarist J3 and others, wrote and recorded the songs for the new album, then made the core components of each available for download on to anyone who wished to add their playing or otherwise re-interpret the music however they saw fit. Lee listened to every single submission that was uploaded, chose the best, and integrated the actual audio tracks into the album's final cuts. Every single musician whose part was used is credited and thanked on the album.

The song files were made available on The Public Record web site on October 5, 2009. By the end of the submission period in February, 2010, the page was viewed over 1 million times and over 10,000 submissions were uploaded. What came back once the public got its hands on the raw ingredients was truly all over the map — just as Tommy Lee had hoped. The diverse submissions included techno tracks sent in from Japan, hand drum rhythms from India and searing guitar solos from as close to home as San Diego.

METHODS OF MAYHEM self-titled debut was released in 1999 and was certified gold by the RIAA (Recording Industry Association of America) for sales in excess of 500,000 copies in the United States alone. The album featured Snoop Dogg, Kid Rock and Fred Durst, among others. METHODS OF MAYHEM's set was a featured highlight of 2000's Ozzfest.

"A Public Disservice Announcement" track listing:

01. Drunk Uncle Pete
02. Time Bomb
03. Louder
04. Fight Song
05. Blame
06. Two Ways
07. Talk Me Off The Ledge
08. Only One
09. All I Wanna Do
10. Back To Before
11. Party Instructions

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email