November 20, 2019

CANDLEMASS, DEATH ANGEL, I PREVAIL, KILLSWITCH ENGAGE and TOOL are among the "Best Metal Performance" nominees at the 62nd annual Grammy Awards, which will be held on on January 26 at the Staples Center in Los Angeles and will broadcast live on the CBS television network at 7 p.m. ET/4 p.m. PT.

"Best Metal Performance" nominees:

* CANDLEMASS - "Astorolus - The Great Octopus" (feat. Tony Iommi)
* DEATH ANGEL - "Humanicide"
* I PREVAIL - "Bow Down"
* TOOL - "7empest"

"Best Rock Performance" nominees:

* BONES UK - "Pretty Waste"
* GARY CLARK JR. - "This Land"
* BRITTANY HOWARD - "History Repeats"
* RIVAL SONS - "Too Bad"

"Best Rock Song" (A Songwriter(s) Award) nominees:

* "Fear Inoculum" - TOOL, songwriters (TOOL)
* "Give Yourself A Try" - George Daniel, Adam Hann, Matthew Healy & Ross MacDonald, songwriters (THE 1975)
* "Harmony Hall" - Ezra Koenig, songwriter (VAMPIRE WEEKEND)
* "History Repeats" - Brittany Howard, songwriter (Brittany Howard)
* "This Land" - Gary Clark Jr., songwriter (Gary Clark Jr.)

"Best Rock Album" nominees:

"Trauma" - I PREVAIL
"Feral Roots" - RIVAL SONS

This year, HIGH ON FIRE was honored with a Grammy in the "Best Metal Performance" category in the pre-telecast ceremony at the 61st annual Grammy Awards, which was held on February 10 at Staples Center. HIGH ON FIRE was nominated for "Electric Messiah", the title track of its 2018 album.

Last year, the Recording Academy announced several changes to the awards process, most notably to the "General Field" categories — record of the year, album of the year, song of the year and best new artist — where the number of nominations was increased from five to eight. The Recording Academy also claims to have made greater efforts this year to diversify its voting body, reaching out to women and people of color specifically about becoming new members while requiring longtime members to re-qualify based on recent work.

The Grammys are voted on by approximately 13,000 Recording Academy members, who are comprised of artists, songwriters, producers and engineers. More than 21,000 recordings were submitted for Grammys consideration this year. For 2020 awards, music must have been released between October 1, 2018 and August 31, 2019 in order to be eligible.

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).