TWISTED SISTER Frontman DEE SNIDER To Open 'Louder Than Words' Exhibit

May 19, 2016

As Cleveland prepares for the 2016 Republican National Convention, the Rock And Roll Hall Of Fame is opening a very timely exhibit around rock and politics. "Louder Than Words: Rock, Power & Politics" looks at some of the most important debates in our country through the lens of rock music. The exhibit includes exclusive video interviews with Bono, David Byrne, Dee Snider, Tom Morello, Lars Ulrich, Gloria Estefan, Gregg Allman, Jimmy Carter, and others, and combines them with interactives, photography and never-before-seen artifacts to examine how music has both shaped and reflected our culture norms on eight political topics:

* Civil Rights
* LGBT Issues
* Feminism
* War & Peace
* Censorship
* Political Campaigns
* Political Causes
* International Politics

"Louder Than Words: Rock, Power & Politics" organizes the experience by presidential administrations — from Eisenhower through Obama — and uses historical context to shed insight into how we view these issues today. A continuously updated digital screen connects music's impact to some of the most pressing media issues of today, including Bruce Springsteen's cancellation of concerts in North Carolina following the signing of the Public Facilities Privacy & Security Act, the Arab Spring and the #BlackLivesMatter movement.

TWISTED SISTER frontman Dee Snider, who testified at the 1985 Parents Music Resource Center (PRMC) Senate Hearings on Censorship, will perform an acoustic version of "We're Not Gonna Take It" during the opening event on May 19. Snider testified along with Frank Zappa and John Denver at the PRMC hearings, which had the stated goal of increasing parental control over the access of children to music deemed to have violent, drug-related or sexual themes via labeling albums with Parent Advisory stickers. Snider's artifacts and stories are told in the exhibit including how presidential candidate Donald Trump came to use "We're Not Gonna Take It" as his campaign song.

Included in the exhibit are:

* Jimi Hendrix's "Star Spangled Banner" Fender Stratocaster from Woodstock
* John Lennon's acoustic guitar from the 1969 Montreal and Amsterdam "Bed-ins for Peace"
* Correspondence between the FBI and Priority Records regarding N.W.A.'s "Fight The Power".
* Original handwritten lyrics from Bob Dylan's "The Times They Are a-Changin'", Chuck Berry's "School Day", Neil Young's "Ohio", Bruce Springsteen's "Born In The U.S.A." and GREEN DAY's "American Idiot"
* Original VILLAGE PEOPLE stage costumes
* Artifacts related to the Vietnam war, the May 4, 1970 shooting at Kent State, the fall of the Berlin Wall, and the #BlackLivesMatter movement.

Curators from the Rock And Roll Hall of Fame and the Newseum worked with veteran music journalist, author and television producer Bill Flanagan ("VH1 Storytellers", "CMT Crossroads", "CBS News Sunday Morning") to create this unique exhibition. It will open run May 20 through November 27 when the exhibit travels to the Newseum in Washington, D.C to open Jan. 13, 2017, in time for the Presidential Inauguration.

More than 50 artists and political figures are featured in the exhibit, including:

* Beyoncé
* Bono
* Eric Clapton
* Bill Clinton
* George Clinton
* Sam Cooke
* Bob Dylan
* Melissa Etheridge
* Gloria Estefan
* Aretha Franklin
* Lady Gaga
* Jimi Hendrix
* Chrissie Hynde
* Alan Jackson
* Kendrick Lamar
* Cyndi Lauper
Queen Latifah
* John Lennon
* Madonna
* Bob Marley
* Tom Morello
* N.W.A.
* Yoko Ono
* Elvis Presley
* Keith Richards
* Pete Seeger
* Dee Snider
* Nina Simone
* Grace Slick
* Bruce Springsteen
* Rod Stewart
* Joe Strummer
* Sid Vicious
* Ann Wilson
* Stevie Wonder
* Neil Young

The Rock Hall will be doing themed programs about rock and politics for visitors all summer long, including a screening of "Free To Rock: How Rock & Roll Helped End The Cold War" on Wednesday, June 29 at 7 p.m. Visit for more information on upcoming events and programming.







Find more on Dee snider
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).