TWISTED SISTER: 'Stay Hungry' Re-Recording To Arrive In October

August 30, 2004

Eagle Rock Entertainment has set an October 5 release date for TWISTED SISTER's "Still Hungry" CD — a re-recorded and expanded version of the classic 1984 album "Stay Hungry".

"Still Hungry" — which was produced by Mark Mendoza, a longtime producer/engineer in addition to his bass guitar duties with TWISTED SISTER — finally gives the New York-based band a chance to make "Stay Hungry" the way it was first envisioned. "Stay Hungry" has sold more than 6 million copies worldwide, but it doesn't sound the way TWISTED SISTER wanted it to sound.

" 'Still Hungry' is 'Stay Hungry - The Way It Ought to Be'," stated guitarist Jay Jay French. "It has an ultra-heavy sound, which is the way we wanted 'Stay Hungry' in the first place. But at that time rock records had a thin, very midrange kind of sound and so 'Stay Hungry' was recorded very lightly. We battled Atlantic Records and producer Tom Werman about it, but we lost.

"These re-recordings are faithful to the original arrangements but they sound much heavier," he continued. "There are an additional seven tracks included — obscure songs from our club days but never officially recorded then. On two of these songs, 'Never Say Never' and 'Blastin' Fast & Loud', we used the original drum tracks that A.J. recorded. These songs were meant to be included on 'Stay Hungry' but were never finished. 'Heroes Are Hard to Find' was on the soundtrack of Dee's movie 'Strangeland'."

Six of the seven bonus tracks previously appeared, mostly in raw form, on archival TWISTED SISTER albums. Demos of "Come Back" and "Rock N Roll Saviors" were included on the 1999 Spitfire Records collection "Club Daze Volume I: The Studio Sessions". The completed 2001 studio recordings of "Never Say Never" and "Blastin' Fast & Loud" (with Pero's original 1984 drum tracks) kick off 2001's Spitfire release "Club Daze Volume II: Live in the Bars", which also features vintage live versions of "You Know I Cry", "Plastic Money" and "Come Back" (one of just a few songs to appear on both "Club Daze" volumes).

"Even the cover art is now the way we wanted it," said French. "It shows us as five starving musicians in street clothes in a tenement sitting at a table to represent where we came from, and the ghostly looking image of us in our stage clothes behind that shot represents what we imagined we could achieve."

"Still Hungry" track listing:

01. Stay Hungry
02. We're Not Gonna Take It
03. Burn in Hell
04. Horror-Teria:
A) Captain Howdy
B) Street Justice
05. I Wanna Rock
06. The Price
07. Don't Let Me Down
08. The Beast
09. S.M.F.
Bonus tracks:
10. Never Say Never
11. Blastin' Fast & Loud
12. Come Back
13. Plastic Money
14. You Know I Cry
15. Rock N Roll Saviors
16. Heroes Are Hard to Find


Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email