TYPE O NEGATIVE Members Launch New Project

June 19, 2003

TYPE O NEGATIVE members Kenny Hickey (vocals, guitar) and Johnny Kelly (drums) have teamed up with DUST TO DUST bassist/vocalist Rob Traynor in an as-yet-unnamed new band, according to TYPE O's official web site (www.typeonegative.net). The group are currently recording a five-song demo in Staten Island, New York with Rob engineering and are describing their musical direction as "SABBATH, SOUNDGARDEN, BEATLES, groove oriented — nothing happy, all in minor."

Among the songtitles set to appear on the band's demo are the following:

01. Broken Sky
02. Hole Inside
03. Numb

In other news, TYPE O NEGATIVE performed at the legendary CBGBs in New York City on Friday night (June 13),for a special VIP show to promote the band's new album, "Life Is Killing Me", which arrived in stores Tuesday (June 17).

The band, dressed in hospital scrubs, played mostly old material at the CBGBs show, which ran about an hour. TYPE O NEGATIVE played "Black No. 1", their trademark Halloween song, as well as "Christian Woman", "Love You To Death", and the classic "Unsuccessfully Coping With The Natural Beauty Of Infidelity (I Know You're Fuckking Someone Else)" .

One of the reasons the band played older material is that TYPE O NEGATIVE frontman Peter Steele said he doesn't feel comfortable playing songs that people don't know, live. "We have had to alter our set list, time after time," he explained. "I don't believe in, and I am a devout non-believer, in playing new songs live if the subjected and pathetic crowd has not heard them before because I consider it like mass psychosis and genocidal."

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).