UNEARTH: Lyric Video For New Song 'Survivalist'

September 28, 2018

The official lyric video for the song "Survivalist" from Boston's UNEARTH can be seen below. The track is taken from the band's new album, "Extinction(s)", which will be released on November 23. For its seventh release and Century Media debut, the band worked with Will Putney (EVERY TIME I DIE, BODY COUNT, GOJIRA, THY ART IS MURDER, SILENT PLANET) at Graphic Nature Studios. Additionally, KILLSWITCH ENGAGE's Adam Dutkiewicz recorded drums for the effort.

Frontman Trevor Phipps states: "'Survivalist' is a song written from the perspective of someone battling a potentially terminal illness. It covers the hopelessness, desperation and devastation to the inner strength and determination one can find from the desire to live on for themselves and those around them. Musically it's a song that is closely tied to our roots with raw aggression, melody and pure heaviness."

According to a press release, "Extinction(s)" "is full of venom toward the wrongs of the world, fighting back against the precarious position civilization is in, determined to effect some kind of change. The inevitability of death, loss, and tragedy is a persistent theme throughout 'Extinction(s)', deep within the band’s most profound and hard-hitting lyrics thus far."

"Extinction(s)" track listing:

01. Incinerate
02. Dust
03. Survivalist
04. Cultivation Of Infection
05. The Hunt Begins
06. Hard Lines Downfall
07. King Of The Arctic
08. Sidewinder
09. No Reprisal
10. One With The Sun

The first single from the album, "Incinerate", can be streamed below.

The band comments: "'Incinerate' brings the raw aggression and heaviness of our early material while also showcasing elements of where we've gone as a band since. Lyrically, it is meant to be a song of unity in a time of great polarization around the world. We are constantly being told to not like our neighbor because they might have different views. The theme is a faith in humanity to come together and combat and rid the world of those that are intentionally dividing us."

Immediately upon its release this summer, "Incinerate" shot to No. 1 on SiriusXM Liquid Metal's "The Devil's Dozen" and was among the Top 100 most played songs on Amazon Music.

After an awe-inspiring 20 years of blazing trails and dominating stages, UNEARTH is now institutionalized as a relentless force in heavy metal, standing the test of time with consistently triumphant creative output, tireless road warrior resilience, blue collar-style workmanship and a resolute determination to deliver the goods.

With over 500,000 in worldwide album sales, UNEARTH's continued staying power has also hinged on its highly interactive and toweringly heavy live performances.

UNEARTH etched its name into the annals of hard rock history through unrelenting determination, tireless energy and a catalog of stone-cold classics. Two decades into a triumphant career, the Massachusetts-bred New Wave Of American Heavy Metal trailblazers are both elder statesmen and newly relevant all over again.

Find more on Unearth
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email