Video Premiere: MOONSPELL's 'Extinct'

March 5, 2015

Portuguese metallers MOONSPELL will release their new album, "Extinct", on March 17 via Napalm Records. The CD was completed at Fascination Street Studio in Örebro, Sweden with producer Jens Bogren, who has previously worked with KATATONIA, AMON AMARTH, OPETH and PARADISE LOST, among others.

The official video for the "Extinct" title track can be seen below.

Asked how working with Bogren changed the sound dynamic for MOONSPELL, the band's lead singer, Fernando Ribeiro, told Decibel: "Jens was a key element to the whole process and not only the final result. When I wrote him, it seemed that some dark stars have aligned for us, because he was dead serious in making an album with such characteristics, as it was way closer to his heart as a music fan. Come on, his studio is called Fascination Street. So when he heard the demos, the things in the rough, he jumped head first into the project."

He continued: "We were looking for someone who had a strong personality (we did a little checking with our pals in AMON AMARTH and KREATOR),that he was intense with his ideas and defending them and I started liking him already, because I know my band and I know myself and we do need the right dose of discipline and criticism to make it work. Jens had that but he also knew how to show confidence in the right moments. That human factor was pretty important and decisive in many crossroads. Other than that, him and his team (David Castillo was tracking guitars and bass) are true pros and actually enjoyed the surprise of dealing with a band and an album that was more particular and with people that were more open about expressing their feelings on the album. He was a true producer, getting involved to a depth that no one did before him and he was a generous guy with his time, ideas, even putting up with the whole gang living in the studio, cooking, sweating, being in the way. He knew that we didn’t want to sound like a Swedish death metal machine. He knew we wanted to be powerful in a romantic way, so to say. And he hit bull’s-eye, we really did get what we were looking for and our music has never sounded more honest, more alive."

In an interview with, MOONSPELL drummer Miguel "Mike" Gaspar stated about "Extinct": "It's always tricky when you've been so involved in the making and production of an album like 'Extinct'. Usually before we hit the studio we know all the songs in and out, close to the final product. With this album, everything was so quick in the writing; we had no time to overthink things. Most of the magic happened in the studio. We changed, experimented, and, tweaked everything to the smallest details. So coming back home you feel a bit confused, like riding a roller coaster and still feeling like you're in it, even when it has stopped, and not believing you went through the experience!"

He continued: "It is a great thing to be able to listen to an album that is yours, but at the same time it feels like any other music lover would appreciate new material from one of there favorite bands. I was so amazed when I heard the final master. Just sounds fantastic. So far the response has been overwhelming, great reviews from all over the world. Being a Portuguese band this is over the top for us. It even feels a bit nostalgic from the '90s when it all happened and we made our music recognized in the goth/metal scene."

The cover artwork for the mediabook edition of "Extinct" was designed by Seth Siro Anton and can be seen below. MOONSPELL states: "This edition will be a two-disc edition, containing the full album, plus bonus songs remixed by our very own Pedro Paixão and a full documentary named 'Road To Extinction' which contains not only the making of of the album but as well some scientific context about 'Extinct'. A great piece that see you into the MOONSPELL studio and life!"

According to a press release, "Extinct" is "all but a musical and emotional manifesto. It puts the D of darkness back into dark metal. It's a true lesson for the new generations of goth metal about how it's played and felt with body and soul; a lesson taught by no others than our Portuguese gentlemen wolves."

"Extinct" will be made available as a mediabook, jewel case, special limited deluxe edition and LP.

"Extinct" track listing:

01. Breathe (Until We Are No More)
02. Extinct
03. Medusalem
04. Domina
05. The Last of Us
06. Malignia
07. Funeral Bloom
08. A Dying Breed
09. The Future Is Dark
10. La Baphomette
11. Until We Are No Less (bonus track)
12. Doomina (bonus track)
13. Last Of Them (bonus track)
14. The Past Is Darker (bonus track)


Find more on Moonspell
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).