Video Premiere: PRAYING MANTIS's 'Keep It Alive'

April 23, 2018

British rockers PRAYING MANTIS will release their 11th studio album, "Gravity", on May 11 via Frontiers Music Srl.

The official music video for the disc's opening track, "Keep It Alive", can be seen below.

"Gravity" track listing:

01. Keep It Alive
02. Mantis Anthem
03. Time Can Heal
04. 39 Years
05. Gravity
06. Ghosts Of The Past
07. Destiny In Motion
08. The Last Summer
09. Foreign Affair
10. Shadow Of Love
11. Final Destination

After the positive response given to to the band's last studio release, 2015's "Legacy", the new record sees PRAYING MANTIS return with another inspired, take-no-prisoners set.

The album also sees MANTIS retain the same lineup, with John Cuijpers (vocals) and Hans In't Zandt (drums) again contributing to the songwriting process. Alongside founding members Tino Troy, Chris Troy and Andy Burgess, they have not only helped in the writing of the songs, but also in providing a new dimension in terms of sound engineering and overall production.

One of the most influential and well-known sleeve artists in the rock field, Rodney Matthews (MAGNUM, DIAMOND HEAD, ALLEN/LANDE),has been commissioned to design the artwork for "Gravity" in the same style and stunning quality that so many fans loved on MANTIS albums such as "Time Tells No Lies", "Predator In Disguise" and the aforementioned "Legacy".

PRAYING MANTIS was formed by brothers Tino and Chris Troy in 1973 and together with bands like IRON MAIDEN, DEF LEPPARD, SAXON, and others they spearheaded the NWOBHM movement. While they did not see the same dizzying heights of success as some of their contemporaries, PRAYING MANTIS nonetheless became one of the most influential bands of the New Wave Of British Heavy Metal (NWOBHM). The band has remained active over the years and still record and play live regularly.

PRAYING MANTIS will perform at the annual Frontiers Rock Festival in Milan, Italy on April 28.


John Cuijpers: lead vocals
Tino Troy: guitars & vocals
Chris Troy: bass & vocals
Andy Burgess: guitars & vocals
Hans In't Zandt: drums

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email