Video: SODOM Rejoined By Three Former Guitarists At 35th-Anniversary Concert In Germany

December 31, 2017

German thrash metal veterans SODOM were rejoined by former guitarists Josef "Grave Violator" Dominik (who was in the band 1984-1985),Frank "Blackfire" Gosdzik (1986-1989) and Andy Brings (1991-1995) during their 35th-anniversary show on December 26 at Zeche in Bochum, Germany.

Fan-filmed video footage of the concert can be seen below.

The band's setlist was as follows:

01. In Retribution
02. In War And Pieces
03. An Eye For An Eye
04. Surfin' Bird / The Saw Is The Law
05. Belligerence
06. Among The Weirdcong
07. The Vice Of Killing
08. Sodomy And Lust
09. Masquerade In Blood
10. Proselytism Real
11. Witching Metal
12. Rolling Thunder
13. Napalm In The Morning
14. City Of God
15. Tired And Red
16. Caligula
17. Blasphemer (with Grave Violator)
18. Burst Command 'Til War (with Grave Violator)
19. Outbreak Of Evil (with Grave Violator)
20. Christ Passion (with Frank Blackfire)
21. Nuclear Winter (with Frank Blackfire)
22. Agent Orange (with Frank Blackfire)
23. Wachturm (with Andy Brings)
24. Sodomized (with Andy Brings)
25. Die Stumme Ursel (with Andy Brings)
26. Ausgebombt
27. Bombenhagel

SODOM's current lineup includes bassist/vocalist and sole remaining original member Thomas "Angelripper" Such, along with guitarist Bernd "Bernemann" Kost and drummer Markus "Makka" Freiwald.

SODOM's latest album, "Decision Day", was released in August 2016 via SPV/Steamhammer. The disc was produced by Cornelius "Corny" Rambadt, sound engineer and drummer with Angelripper's side project ONKEL TOM. The effort featured artwork courtesy of Joe Petagno. As well as having worked for PINK FLOYD and LED ZEPPELIN, Petagno is MOTÖRHEAD's favored graphic designer and has created legendary album covers such as "Overkill", "Orgasmatron" and "Another Perfect Day".

In a 2016 interview with Distorted Sound, Such stated about the making of "Decision Day": "When we start writing new songs, we never think about what we've got to do or we never have any direction in doing an old-school album.

"SODOM is a band who will never change, really, even if you look back to the '90s when a lot of bands tried to get more commercial and change the music, but we never [did].

"I think back in the '90s as SODOM we had some of the heaviest albums of our career, and when we're writing songs now, we don't think about what we've got to do. We just rehearse. It's very old school — we have a rehearsal room and we do it one time a week and we just start it with a jam session, of course, drinking a beer and start a guitar riff or a drum fills.

"I know other bands who are going to write songs on MP3 trading — one guy is living in America, one guy is living in England, the other one in Germany — and that is not a band. SODOM is a band.

"We never look back because there are some people who say it sounds like 'Agent Orange' or 'Persecution Mania'. There was one guy who told me it sounds like 'Obsessed By Cruelty'. I never mind, but we just don't think about that — we just want to write good songs and a good album, but always try to keep the spirit of SODOM. We never want to try and change anything. We're gonna do thrash metal. There is no label or record company who will dictate to us off doing that.

"I want to be free, I want to do this kind of music, but we love this kind of music.

"All of the inspiration, for me, is the older bands like VENOM, MOTӦRHEAD, the old MOTӦRHEAD, but when we start writing songs we don't think about writing a song like MOTӦRHEAD or whatever, we just keep it a SODOM song.

"The difference between the new one and the older releases like 'Epitome Of Torture' and 'In War And Pieces', the way we produced this album, we never had a release date with our label; we just recorded the songs and we had a lot of time. We recorded in six months and it was very relaxed working and the studio was near my hometown so I could go there doing some vocal work, some bass lines and going back home and relaxing. We got a chance to do a pre-production and change things we weren’t satisfied with and had a lot of time to make it perfect."

Find more on Sodom
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).