Video: ULI JON ROTH Performs JIMI HENDRIX's 'Little Wing' In Seattle

January 29, 2015

"Iron" Mike Savoia of Savoia Photography Live has uploaded video footage of legendary guitarist Uli Jon Roth (SCORPIONS) performing the Jimi Hendrix classic "Little Wing" on January 27 at Studio Seven in Seattle, Washington. Check it out below.

UDR will release Uli Jon Roth's brand new double album of 19 re-invented SCORPIONS tracks, titled "Scorpions Revisited", on March 10. Pre-orders are available now via iTunes. When you pre-order, you get the song "Catch Your Train" as an instant grat track.

For over four decades, Uli Jon Roth has forged new frontiers in the world of guitar, both in terms of approach and style. He even managed to invent the "sky guitar," a six-octave lead instrument that remains unparalleled. But before he started to explore the creative worlds of music, philosophy and art, Uli Jon Roth was a member of German rock giants SCORPIONS, a band with which he helped create a new path in hard rock music. In 2013, venerated for his originality and dynamism at the time, Roth found himself intrigued by the memory of those early days which began 40 years ago, and specifically by the music he helped write, perform and occasionally sing on the albums "Fly To The Rainbow", "In Trance", "Virgin Killer" and "Taken By Force". It led to Roth deciding to spend a year re-visiting, exploring, performing and re-recording his favorite SCORPIONS songs.

The first results of this magical, mystical journey into his own past can be heard on "Scorpions Revisited", a double-disc CD recorded in Hanover, Germany which sees the maestro re-harness all the collective power and poise of those original SCORPIONS classics, and re-imagine them as he feels today. No one in their right mind would dare call these mere re-recordings, as it's clear that Uli Jon Roth reinvents these songs from the soul up.

"The material for this double CD was recorded last year in the same hall in Hanover that we used for the SCORPIONS rehearsals 1973-1978," explains Roth. "Together with an amazing bunch of very talented young musicians, I revisited my personal favourites from the early SCORPIONS period, some of which were written in that same hall. It was an emotional few days and I am very pleased with the results in more ways than one. The idea was to stay truthful to the original spirit of the music, while also putting a new slant on it whenever it felt like the right thing to do. I feel we really succeeded in this and I'm very excited about this project. It was a intense journey into the past and I think we really managed to bring the songs back to life with a vengeance."

The band which performed with Roth for these historic shows was Nathan James (vocals),Jamie Little (drums),Ule W. Ritgen (bass),Niklas Turmann (guitar, vocals),Corvin Bahn (keyboards, vocals) and David Klosinski (guitar).

"Scorpions Revisited" track listing:


01. The Sails Of Charon
02. Longing For Fire
03. Crying Days
04. Virgin Killer
05. In Trance
06. Sun In My Hand
07. Yellow Raven
08. Polar Nights
09. Dark Lady


01. Catch Your Train
02. Evening Wind
03. All Night Long
04. We'll Burn In The Sky
05. Pictured Life
06. Hell Cat
07. Life's Like A River
08. Drifting Sun
09. Rainbow Dream Prelude
10. Fly To The Rainbow


Find more on Uli jon roth
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).