Virtual Metal Band PENTAKILL Releases New Album 'II: Grasp Of The Undying'

Virtual Metal Band PENTAKILL Releases New Album 'II: Grasp Of The Undying'

Virtual heavy metal band PENTAKILL — featuring infernal lead vocalist Karthus, blazing axe-man Mordekaiser, enchanting keyboardist Sona, rumbling bassist Yorick, berserker drummer Olaf, and new member Kayle, a winged warrior goddess who sings songs presaging the end of the world — is breaking further out of the hundred-million-player League Of Legends gaming universe and onto the playlists of metalheads worldwide. Their second release, "II: Grasp Of The Undying", hits international all major digital streaming platforms today, including Spotify, Apple Music and more.

In conjunction with the album's release, League Of Legends and PENTAKILL are streaming "II: Grasp Of The Undying" in full via YouTube and the PENTAKILL music landing page at At the same location, you can also witness the brand new state-of-the-art, cinematic animated music video for the punishing track "Mortal Reminder". Within twenty-four hours of being posted, the "Mortal Reminder" video racked up over 7.3 million views across platforms. Witness PENTAKILL's live musical carnage in Bandle City, recorded in the catacombs of the Shadow Isles!

"II: Grasp Of The Undying" features not only the skills of League Of Legends developer Riot Games' most passionate in-house composers, songwriters, and producers (who also happen to be diehard metalheads), but an elite list of metal, rock and electronic music heavyweights. "II: Grasp Of The Undying" showcases the musical talents of renowned rock/metal vocalist Jorn Lande (MASTERPLAN, AVANTASIA), songstress Noora Louhimo of BATTLE BEAST, producer Scott Kirkland of THE CRYSTAL METHOD, producer and vocalist Danny Lohner, formerly of NINE INCH NAILS, world-renowned drummer Tommy Lee of MÖTLEY CRÜE fame, drummer Mike Pitman and vocalist Rich Thomson of XERATH, vocalist Per Johansson of UREAS, and many more.

Lande, the voice of Karthus, states: "It's great for a classic heavy rocker like myself to be a part of this modern gaming music world, and I'm excited and grateful for the opportunity to work with such a great team of talented people. This exciting development is not just about creating an original twist to the online gaming industry, but also about pioneering some groundbreaking new metal! My job is to make Karthus the singer he is, and add the classic heavy rock element to his performance. I'm proud that Karthus and his band are back to bring new PENTAKILL metal your way!"

Louhimo, the voice of Kayle, adds: "It's been so exciting and an honor to be part of the second PENTAKILL record. This has been my dream come true to work in the gaming world. This is just the beginning and I can't wait to see what the future brings. I hope people love the result as much as I do!"

There's something for every heavy music fan on "II: Grasp Of The Undying" — an album that is not only accessible, but will stand up next to any heavy metal artist on your playlist. "II: Grasp Of The Undying" is a full-length, ten-track scorcher of a record — showcasing the multi-faceted talents of the genuine music professionals and avid production team involved, and featuring genre-influences ranging from power metal, NWOBHM, thrash, modern progressive death metal and everything in between - even electronic/industrial!

"II: Grasp Of The Undying" track listing:

01. Cull
02. Mortal Reminder
03. Tear of the Goddess
04. Infinity Edge
05. Dead Man's Plate
06. The Hex Core mk-2
07. The Bloodthirster
08. Frozen Heart
09. Rapid Firecannon
10. Blade of the Ruined King

PENTAKILL was spawned from massive League Of Legends fan/player engagement, theories and buzz. Wanting first and foremost to give back to a global community of players, Riot Games and their team of in-house composers, songwriters, and producers came up with the idea to write, record and release a real heavy metal album based on a virtual heavy metal band comprised of members embodied by the original skin line they originated from. In their virtual reality, PENTAKILL is billed as the fictional land of Valoran's most famous rock band.

In 2014, the Riot Games music label issued the band's first foray out of the video game realm, "Smite And Ignite" — an eight-track collection of appropriately punishing songs that was written completely in-house at Riot, and supported by the talents of studio musicians, including ZP Theart of DRAGONFORCE, Derek Sherinian of DREAM THEATER, Lohner and Lande. Upon its release in 2014 and with absolutely no traditional promotion, "Smite And Ignite" went on to debut Top 40 on Billboard and #1 on the iTunes Metal and Rock charts, plus charted top 30 on the overall iTunes charts, in addition to millions of YouTube and Spotify streams.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).