VOIVOD Wins JUNO Award In 'Metal/Hard Music Album Of The Year' Category

March 16, 2019

VOIVOD was honored in the "Metal/Hard Music Album Of The Year" category at this year's Juno Awards (the Canadian equivalent of the Grammy Awards). The 48th annual Juno Gala Dinner And Awards was co-hosted by BILLY TALENT's Ben Kowalewicz and CBC's Julie Nesrallah on Saturday evening, and 36 awards were handed out. This year's recipients of the Walt Grealis Special Achievement Award and Humanitarian Award were also honored.

VOIVOD won the award for its latest album, "The Wake", which was released last September via Century Media Records. The disc was recorded and mixed by Francis Perron at RadicArt Recording Studio in Canada. The album's artwork was once again created by VOIVOD drummer Michel "Away" Langevin.

VOIVOD said in a statement: "We are incredibly honored to receive the award for best 'Metal/Hard Music Album Of The Year' at the Junos! 'The Wake' marked our 35th year and we couldn't be happier. Thank you for your continuous support. It's what fuels us to keep on going. Rock on, friends!"

Artists who released albums between September 1, 2017 and November 9, 2018 were eligible for nominations.

Eligible musicians must be Canadian citizens. This is defined by CARAS as 50 percent or more of group members holding Canadian birth certificates, passports or are Canadian Permanent Resident(s) with residency in Canada during the last six months of the eligibility period.

This year's "Metal/Hard Music Album Of The Year" nominees were as follows:

* BEYOND CREATION - "Algorythm" (Season Of Mist)
* CANCER BATS - "The Spark That Moves" (New Damage)
* KEN MODE - "Loved" (New Damage)
* KOBRA AND THE LOTUS - "Prevail II" (Napalm)
* VOIVOD - "The Wake" (Century Media)

We are incredibly honoured to receive the award for best metal/hard music album of the year at the Junos! The Wake...

Posted by Voivod on Saturday, March 16, 2019

Find more on Voivod
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).