VOLBEAT's 'Seal The Deal & Let's Boogie' Cracks U.S. Top 5

June 13, 2016

"Seal The Deal & Let's Boogie", the sixth full-length album from Danish/American rock 'n' rollers VOLBEAT, debuted at No. 4 on The Billboard 200, having shifted 51,000 equivalent album units in the week ending June 9.

The Billboard 200 chart ranks the most popular albums of the week based on multi-metric consumption, which includes traditional album sales, track equivalent albums (TEA) and streaming equivalent albums (SEA).

In terms of pure album sales, "Seal The Deal & Let's Boogie" opened with 48,000 copies.

VOLBEAT's previous high on the chart (and best sales week) was logged when its last album, 2013's "Outlaw Gentlemen & Shady Ladies", debuted and peaked at No. 9 with 39,000 sold in its first week.

"Seal The Deal & Let's Boogie" was released on June 3 via Republic Records.

Produced by longtime collaborator Jacob Hansen and co-produced by frontman Michael Poulsen and lead guitarist Rob Caggiano, "Seal The Deal & Let's Boogie" includes a total of 13 new tracks, reflecting their signature hybrid of rock prowess, metal power, blues soul, and rockabilly swing.

On the new album, Poulsen told Finland's Kaaos TV: "I'm not taking anything away from the past records, because I'm so proud of every record we've done so far, and they're all a huge inspiration for the new stuff that we are doing. But if you go back and listen to the older VOLBEAT records, there's a lot of mixture of different styles, like rockabilly and country and punk rock and pop rock and metal. And on this record, it's more like an album; it's a solid rock album. There's not so many different mixture of styles. And this time it's pretty much underneath, so some of the songs, instead of being right in your face, this is more of a rock album with huge melodies, huge hook lines."

Like the band's last effort, 2013's "Outlaw Gentlemen & Shady Ladies", there's a loose concept to the new disc, as Caggiano explained. "There's definitely some stuff that kind of weaves in and out of the record," he told The Pulse Of Radio. "You know, the last album was leaning heavily towards like the Western stuff and, you know, outlaws and cowboys and that kind of thing, and this is a whole different thing. There's definitely some cool characters and some voodoo stuff on this record, which I always found fascinating."

"Seal The Deal & Let's Boogie" track listing:

01. The Devil's Bleeding Crown
02. Marie Laveau
03. The Bliss
04. The Gates of Babylon
05. Let It Burn
06. Black Rose
07. Rebound
08. Mary Jane Kelly
09. Goodbye Forever
10. Seal The Deal
11. Battleship Chains
12. You Will Know
13. The Loa's Crossroad

VOLBEAT will spend most of the summer in Europe, returning in August for SEETHER's Rise Above festival in Maine on August 6, the Heavy Montreal event on August 7, and an opening slot for METALLICA at the U.S. Bank Stadium in Minneapolis on August 8.

VOLBEAT recently announced the addition of bassist Kaspar Boye Larsen to the group's ranks.

Kaspar was previously a member of the punk rock outfit THE HITCHCOCKS and alternative metal group THE KANDIDATE, and even went on tour with VOLBEAT as a support act in 2010.


Find more on Volbeat
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email