WARRIOR SOUL Releases Music Video For Cover Of ALICE COOPER's 'Elected'

October 22, 2020

WARRIOR SOUL will release a covers album called "Cocaine And Other Good Stuff" on November 13 via Livewire/Cargo Records. The LP is preceded by a single, a cover of Alice Cooper's "Elected", the official music video for which can be seen below.

"Cocaine And Other Good Stuff" is an incendiary compilation of songs that everyone in the band, both current and previous members, had some input choosing, and it shows true honesty in the recordings, making it a fresh take on some very listenable rock jams.

Says singer Kory Clarke: "We wanted to make a record that was not about all the crap we are all living in, as it seems like a well-worn path for. So, I had to think out of the box."

The album was recorded all over the western world (Edinburgh, Scotland; Newcastle, England, Copenhagen, Denmark; Los Angeles; New York; Chicago; Detroit; Sheffield, England; Costa Blanca, Torrevieja, Spain) in home studios.

Track listing:

01. Good Times Roll (Ocasek)
02. Cocaine (Cale)
03. Crosstown Traffic (Hendrix)
04. Cold Gin (Frehley)
05. D.O.A. (Van Halen, Van Halen, Anthony, Roth)
06. Elected (Cooper, Buxton, Bruce, Dunaway, Smith)
07. Outlaw (Kilmister, Campbell, Dee)
08. Firehouse (Stanley)
09. Get Down Tonight (Casey, Finch)
10. We're An American Band (Brewer)
11. Living After Midnight (Halford, Downing, Tipton)

The idea for a covers album started when Clarke was contacted by legendary rock photographer, Alex Ruffini's brother, enquiring if WARRIOR SOUL would record a cover of a KISS song, which was Alex Ruffini's favorite band, for a tribute in aid of cancer research. WARRIOR SOUL recorded "Cold Gin". Once the band started recording, it sounded really positive and they decided to assemble a complete record of covers ranging from MOTÖRHEAD to KC AND THE SUNSHINE BAND.

Says Clarke: "I contacted many of the musicians who have played with WARRIOR SOUL recently and asked if they wanted to be part of it. Everyone was very much up for it and ready to go. We called John Dryland at Livewire/Cargo Records, and he said, 'Of course, go for it. The irony of recording 'Good Times Roll' during a global pandemic really works as you can hear the sneer of sarcasm right through every chorus."

WARRIOR SOUL is known for recording some electrifying covers previously, including songs by JOY DIVISION, Iggy Pop and David Bowie. Kory Clarke has performed on several compilation and tribute albums singing other acts songs but this is the first complete album of its kind from WARRIOR SOUL.

Recording lineup:

Kory Clarke - Vocals
Dennis "El Guapo" Post - Guitar
Adam Arling - Guitar
John Hodgson - Guitar
Christian Kimmett - Bass
Kath Edmonds - Drums
Ivan Tambac - Drums
John Besser - Drums
Geoff Yeaton - Horns, Sax

Find more on Warrior soul
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).